7 Days in rainy London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 8th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ever since I left sunny, warm Strasbourg, I’ve wondered how Europe has the nerve to call this season we’re in ‘summer’. For the majority of the time I was in Hamburg the rain was absolutely bucketing down and it was freezing cold. I then left Hamburg to meet my family in London and for seven days London was cold and rainy. The problem with London though is that there seemed to be some kind of tug of war going on up in the sky; the sun wanted to come out and it managed to do so for about ten minutes, and then the clouds seemed to win the struggle momentarily and come back for ten or twenty minutes, maybe even throw down a bit of rain, and then the sun won and came out again for ten minutes and the cycle continued.

But regardless of the schizophrenic weather, London was amazing. I’d been looking forward to the trip since last year when everyone in the family decided they’d take their first overseas holiday together this year and meet up with me over here in Europe. All in all there are ten of us; my mum, my little sister Nicole, my big sister Amanda, her partner Andrew, and her five kids, Kiara, Coralie, Jayden, Jarrah and Ethan.

We stayed in the most gorgeous apartment I’ve ever seen, it was so huge! There were three bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a huge kitchen and a living room that was at least three times the size of some of the studio apartments I’ve seen. It was insane. That alone made the trip worthwhile, never mind all the cool things we saw; such as ‘Les Misérables’ in the West End, ‘Love’s Labours Lost’ at Shakespeare's Globe, a Jack the Ripper walking tour, and a couple of days worth of guided bus tours stopping off at the standard tourist spots - not to mention plenty of shopping!

Of course there was a whole heap of drama going on in London because a suspicious car had been found supposedly packed with explosives the day before we arrived, right near where we were staying. It was pretty much the only thing on TV. And then it seemed like each day that passed another suspicious car had been found, but none of them ever exploded so I don’t know if it was just media hype or what. The
Me & BradMe & BradMe & Brad

At Madame Tussauds
only actual thing we experienced first hand was a tube station evacuation because someone had found an abandoned ‘suspect package’ so the whole of Piccadilly Circus, one of the busiest stations I’ve seen, was closed down, forcing thousands of people up crowded escalators and onto the street, all the while listening to a recorded message threatening an emergency that never seemed to pass.

But thankfully, nothing bad happened in rainy old London. It was just a great week seeing an amazing city (despite the not-so-amazing weather) and catching up with my family that I haven’t seen for six months. And London was only the start of a three week journey with the fams!



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Me & Nick CageMe & Nick Cage
Me & Nick Cage

At Madame Tussauds
Nicole with the BeatlesNicole with the Beatles
Nicole with the Beatles

At Madame Tussauds
The FamilyThe Family
The Family

Not the best pic but about the only one with everyone in it.
Inside Shakespeare's Globe TheatreInside Shakespeare's Globe Theatre
Inside Shakespeare's Globe Theatre

Re-made as close as possible to the original
Jack the Ripper TourJack the Ripper Tour
Jack the Ripper Tour

A walking tour that takes you to all the locations of Jack the Rippers murders. It's ugly but interesting.
Our London ApartmentOur London Apartment
Our London Apartment

Just the living room was bigger than any studio apartment I've seen!
Our London ApartmentOur London Apartment
Our London Apartment

52 Harley Street


7th August 2007

Comments gone
As this was one of the pages I lost in the travelblog crash, if you left a comment that's the reason it's no longer here. I promise I didn't delete it!!
31st August 2007

Liar
I'm shure you've deleted my comment I'm so dissapointed!!!

Tot: 0.259s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 16; qc: 86; dbt: 0.1964s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb