The Magical World of Disney


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Marne-la-Vallée
July 9th 2007
Published: August 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

After London, and on our way to Paris, the family made a two night stopover at Euro Disney. Something I wasn’t overly looking forward to because I was just anxious to get to Paris, but we’d booked in to an expensive hotel with a pool, so I’d pictured myself by the pool for two days, sipping cocktails, enjoying the luxurious rooms, and waiting for the kiddyland part of the holiday to finish.

It didn’t really work out like that. I never even made it to the pool. I didn’t really want to because once I arrived I realised how many children were there. Stupid, right? Not realising how cram packed full of children Disneyland would be? The last thing I wanted to do was go swimming in funny yellow stuff so I kept well clear of the pool.

But not to worry, we were staying in a really expensive hotel. Luxury is something I can not afford so at a time when the only accommodation within walking distance of the fun park requires an arm and a leg to pay for it, I thought I’d just go with the flow and enjoy pretending I was rich for a few days.

Well, the room was crap. We always knew that we wouldn’t be staying in another amazing apartment like the one we stayed in in London, but to go from a place that was like a palatial home, to a hotel room that didn’t even have a kettle was a bit much. It seemed that not only does Mr Walt intend for you to spend copious amounts of money living near his dreamland premises, but that you also need to spend money at the many restaurants and cafés because you aren’t allowed to have basic necessities like coffee and food in your room. We weren’t even allowed to use the fridge because if you moved a single item the electronic sensors would register that an item had been moved and you had to pay for it regardless of whether you ate it or not! So, what we did was find a local store, bought cold drinks and filled our room bin up with ice and had ourselves a make shift esky. Take that, Disney!

The kids in our group were also pretty disappointed with the whole experience, purely because the whole of Europe is currently on summer holidays, meaning that almost every European child was at Disneyland making lining up for rides nearly impossible, with wait times ranging from about 45 minutes to two hours.

But, the rides they did go on they seemed to enjoy. I even waited an hour to get on a roller coaster ride that was supposed to be sending you on intergalactic travel - it was completely in the dark with stars and planets whizzing past, actually very cool! If the lines weren’t so long I would’ve done more, but one minute of fun after an hour of waiting isn’t really worth the time for me.

Thankfully, on our last day we all went to the movie world part of Disneyland and ended up enjoying our last few hours, killing time waiting for the taxi-bus to pick us up; and once that bus arrived there were many smiling faces! I am now in my Paris apartment, and very happy to be here. Half my family is in one apartment and half is in another because they didn’t have one big enough for ten of us! But I’m loving it already, and very much looking forward to the week ahead in the
Jayden & JarrahJayden & JarrahJayden & Jarrah

Morphing into Disney characters before our very eyes!
city I fell in love with five years ago.



Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

RollercoasterRollercoaster
Rollercoaster

The big dome in the background has a rollercoaster inside that's totally in the dark and makes you feel like you're travelling through space - pretty cool!
DiscoveryworldDiscoveryworld
Discoveryworld

One of the many worlds inside Disneyland
Too many...Too many...
Too many...

Just too many cartoon faces here, like some kind of weied nightmare!
Half the gangHalf the gang
Half the gang

Me, Mum, Andrew, Ethan, Jayden & Jarrah
The other halfThe other half
The other half

Coralie, Kiara, Amanda & Nicole


7th August 2007

Comments gone
As this was one of the pages I lost in the travelblog crash, if you left a comment that's the reason it's no longer here. I promise I didn't delete it!!

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 91; dbt: 0.0807s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb