University of London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
July 4th 2007
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Happy 4th! Not doing much celebrating here. When we mentioned it today one of the professors at the University of London said "congratulations." It was pretty funny. So that leads me to telling you that Dr. Madsen took us to visit a few professors at the University of London (Institute of Education). We met with Graham Welch, a major researcher in the voice and music education. We also did a conducting workshop with Colin Durrant, and had a music technology lecture by Evangelos Hemonides (yes he's Greek). Everyone in their department collaborates with one another on several different areas of research. I learned so much about research that has just come out, as well as current studies they are working on. In our last session, Dr. Madsen volunteered me to be the guinea pig for a test that measures physiological responses to different music. I was hooked up to a machine like a lie detector, put headphones on and had to close my eyes. Evangelos played music and my responses were on a screen for the whole class to see. I could hear the class laughing when the songs changed. The first musical example was a really mellow guitar piece...and my response was low and steady. Then the music switched to some ridiculous heavy metal and apparently I jumped off the graph. It was so interesting. I could go on and on, so if you're interested just e-mail me and I'll tell you all about it. (-: The whole experience made the idea of research more appealing...something to think about. Jason and Sherry are cooking spaghetti for the flat tonight. We're working on homework and might grab a pint later.
Peace!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



4th July 2007

if anyone can make you actually WANT to do research...its Dr. Madsen:)

Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb