Friday


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 29th 2007
Published: June 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today in the middle of our class someone told us about the car bomb they found near Piccadilly Circus. Our campus is probably about a 25-30 minute walk to that area, so it is not too far. After class we walked to Leicester Square to get theatre tickets, and there is a lot of police activity on the streets. The streets are still busy however and everyone is acting normally for the most part. I guess the best way to describe it is just a general alertness. I'm going to stay sort of close to my area and hang with my group. We'll walk to the theatre tonight as I don't really have the desire to get on the tube today. Maybe I'm being ridiculous but I need the exercise anyway. It is definitely a little odd being in a place where the potential for something exists, and then experiencing it almost happen. It is hard not to be slightly anxious and afraid even though we have no control over something happening. The BBC is sort of saying that it has to do with Gordon Brown taking over as Prime Minister, as well as the upcoming July 7 two year anniversary for the underground bombings.
On a more positive note!! I'm going to see Chicago tonight with a few friends. It's supposed to be fantastic. Yesterday my roommate and I took a run to Regent's Park. It was HUGE!! We had to run down city streets to get there which was a bit tricky!! I felt like I was in an obstacle course. The park was definitely a reward though. I can't wait to go back and just sit in the gardens.
I booked a 3 day tour to Scotland called the Haggas tour for the week we have off with a few other people and a group from FSU. Supposedly it is awesome...we go to Loch Ness, Edinburgh and the Highlands. Can't wait. Maybe I'll meet Mr. MacGregor. Send me e-mails or notes. (-:
Love Em
p.s.-the London Phil was amazing...Marin Alsop (an American woman) conducted them!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



29th June 2007

Emmy!
You look like you're having an awesome time. I am jealous! See it all and have fun, but be alert. We want you back safe and sound. Love Ya

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb