First Week of Classes


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
June 26th 2007
Published: June 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We started our class yesterday. Behavior Modification with Dr. Madsen. So far I love it.
I've been trying to do something new and "cultural" everyday. Yesterday after school a few of us walked to the National Gallery in Trafalgar Square. It was cold and rainy but that seems to be the norm lately...The museum was incredible. They house some pretty famous works, and of course I didn't get to see them all but it's free and is in walking distance. (-: I stuck with a mostly French theme and looked at Cezanne, Gaugin, Monet, Manet, Seurat...also some Van Gogh, Picasso...Turner. I loved every minute of it, can't wait to go back.
I had to buy a jacket on my way home because I've been freezing!! I split up from my group and walked all the way home (about a 35 minute walk) in the rain...probably should've gotten on the tube, but it was an adventure (and excercise). My flat-mate Sherry and I made chicken fajitas for our flat and that in itself was an adventure. Let's just say it's a good thing we have a big window in the kitchen...
Today a few of us went to the Tate Modern after classes. I saw some really interesting things...A huge Mark Rothco exhibit, Monet's Water Lilies (HUGE!), Matisse, Jackson Pollack, Jean Miro...there was a Dali exhibit but you had to pay for that and I'm cheap...maybe next time. (-: They also had this world cities exhibit that talked about 8 cities in the world and how much they are growing, what the birth rates are, poverty rates, employment...it was actually a little upsetting. It made me realize how lucky most Americans are.
I think tonight I'm going to go hear a choir from New Zealand at a Church...trying to do musical things.
Tomorrow we have tickets to go see the London Phil. There is a 3D performance of Stravinsky's Rite of Spring with a dancer and screens. The audience gets to wear 3D glasses..., how fun is that??
So, I think that's it for now....


Advertisement



26th June 2007

museums...
I went to the Museum of Modern Art in NYC when I was there last week and saw a portion of water lillies as welll....thought it was rather large myself:) Tell me more about behavior Mod!:)
26th June 2007

great pics, by the way:)
28th June 2007

Hey girl!! I am so glad that you decided to go!! You sound awesome and I can't believe that you walked by yourself. Anyway, all is well here in Richmond! We miss you so much, your boyfriend asks for you whenever he looks at your pic on the fridge! I am so proud of you and can't wait to see you when you get home!!! Remember, English husband with a house in London and a house in Richmond!!! ;-) Love you girl! - Damnanda
30th June 2007

You look Maaaavelous!
I LOVE THE PICTURES!!! OK, so I know Jason, and the other guy looks familiar from either my previous FSU days or my teaching days in FL. Who else is in your group? I SOooooo wish I could be there to share in the amazing experiences you are having. Enjoy!

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb