The other kind of sight-seeing


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
January 3rd 2007
Published: January 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What the....????What the....????What the....????

Where else can you get Fosters on tap?
After having lived in London for almost 4 years, there wasn't alot of sightseeing that I needed to do. So during my stay with Rach, we did the other type of sight-seeing....or as some would say...the only type of sight-seeing!

But first I had to buy a camera. I did a bit more research about cameras on the internet including a price comparison between various online places in Oz and the UK so when it came time to hand over my credit card I felt slightly better about making an informed purchase. I am now camera equipped once more with a better camera - I just have to keep telling myself that!! Plus we haggled the guy so I got a camera, spare battery, 2GB memory card and case for a decent price in the end.

When I caught up with friends for dinner, Carla was unable to attend so next stop was to Leather Lane to say hello to her. Carla is the fabulous hair dressers that kept my locks blonde in when I was living in London. After we found her work it was only able to be a brief visit as she was so busy with customers walking in the door every few minutes. I didn't mind chatting to her as she was cutting but I think her grumpy boss said something to her. So we hugged and said good-bye.

By this time both Rachel and I were thirsty so we headed to the pub for a few pints and a bite to eat. It cracked me up to see Fosters on tap, hence the photo, and although tempted, we had a Carling.

A little while later we moved on into Soho where we sampled a few Razzmopolitans and later a few Mango Mojitos. The evening could have become quite large had it not been for a 6:15am flight I needed to be on in the morning. Maria also came out to meet us and it was wonderful to catch up with her. Before heading home, Rach and i stopped at Tuk Tuk for dinner - an Asian restaurant that is cheap, fast and tasty. Then it was home to pack and up early to get the Heathrow.

Thank you to my friends for making my visit so amazing. I can't wait to see you again soon.
Talk to you all soon.
M
Anyone seen my gloves?Anyone seen my gloves?Anyone seen my gloves?

An awesome XXXX extra cold ad in the tube

xx


Observations from my stay in the UK:
1. When you've travelled all the way to London for one week, Edinburgh is not far to go for one night.
2. 15 degrees Celcius is apparently hot.
3. The smell of the London Underground draws on such a sense of nostalga
4. Perception of time is a funny thing - when you miss a tube, 10mins wait until the next once can seem like such a long time and yet a 2 year gap between seeing friends can feel like only a few months.







Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Razzmopolitan....Mmmmm.....Razzmopolitan....Mmmmm.....
Razzmopolitan....Mmmmm.....

Cosmopolitan+Rasberry=Razzmolpolitan
Mango MojitoMango Mojito
Mango Mojito

From 6 degrees in Frith Street, Soho. Sensational!!!


7th January 2007

Maggie, love the photos of the refreshments. Would be nice to see you in the shots though. Sounds like great fun. I am thuroughly jealous. xo
8th January 2007

The big chill
You're heading to more than 30 degrees below!!!
8th January 2007

I'm working on it!
The photo's were tken with my camera phone but I promise I'll put some up with me in them when I find an internet cafe that will let me upload photo's. M xx

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb