salt added to my wounds...


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
December 29th 2006
Published: December 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

My journey


On the tubeOn the tubeOn the tube

It's been a long flight!!
Unfortunately I will not be able to post any photo's from LA because I have somehow managed to misplace my camera. I was really hoping I'd left in it Marcus' car but alas, I did not. So in the mindset of a true optimist, if it's ever a good time to lose a camera it's at the start of the holiday rather than the end and lose all your photo's and what better time of year than when the after Christmas sales are on : )

Second stop: London

It is so strange to be back in London. Although it's just over 2 years since I was last here, it seriously feels like it was just a couple of months ago. The first thing that I really noticed was how expensive things are. My 1-6 zone travel card was £6.30 and 2 pints at the pub were £5.50. Now I know that I can't convert all the time otherwise I'll tear my hair out, but, it is expensive when you think the exchange rate is $2.40 approx to £1.

Once I was showered and fed, I headed into London with Rach (who also met me at Heathow after
The walk homeThe walk homeThe walk home

I walked up this hill many a time when I lived with Madeleine
coming off night shift - thank you sweetheart). We had a good laugh and reminisce about things we'd done and places we'd been as we wandered around Leicester Square and Soho.

After an all too brief afternoon I said good bye to Rach and headed to Beckenham to visit Madeleine, who I lived with for most of the first 2 years that I lived here. Beckenham is in zone 4 so out of London and on the overland train rather than the tube. But the wonderful thing about being out here is that I've seen a few foxes and squirrels running about the back garden.

Today Madeleine's Grand daughter, Sydney, came over for lunch. We had a wonderful time talking about everything from religion to travel to food and life in general. This evening we went to Madeleine's sons house (Angus, his wife Sarah and son Max) for dinner. Sarah cooked a French dish they had eaten when skiing and it was delicious.

If I don't get back online before the weekend, Happy New Year to you all and I talk to you in 2007.

M
xx

ps. One thing that I did forget to mention from my stop in LA was that I was able to meet Marcus' new born nephew Franky. His sister went into labour on Christmas Day and little Franky held on to make an appearance at 12:20am on Dec 26th. We drove up and arrived at around 4:30pm. He was perfect! And I realised probably the newest baby I had ever seen as he wasn't even 24 hours old.

Advertisement



31st December 2006

Spending toooooo much
Margaret Veronica. As you favourite Uncle, I want to ensure that you are safe, have a great trip yet come home with some money in your pocket. PLease ensure you don't overspend, no more bringing home strays like that Kiwi you found wandering the moors one night and come home safe and with foind memorries of your trip, but be sure you come home with soe money still in your pocket...... Our love to you for the New Year............ make no resolutions you won't keep, like not spending money, paying out your HEXS fees or finding a nice guy to marry and make me a Great Uncle (not that I am not great now, you know what I mean Megs!!!!!). Safe trip, talk to you when you get home, Your loving Uncle, Uncle David.............. plus Auntie TRISH..................... xxxxxxxxx
1st January 2007

Thanks
It was heart warming to read your blog. Thanks
3rd January 2007

Oh Uncle David - you don't change
Bless Uncle David, always looking out for you. As the other side of the 'Devils on your shoulder' twins, I say get amongst it, don't let fear of spending your money stop you experiencing everything you want to. You, and the experience, only come around once this time and my real, true belief on life is that we are here to experience it; every experience is an invaluable lesson on something, even if we don't know it yet. There are things you will do that you will regret and things that you will love, each of them is an invaluable step on your path. Revel in all of them, live them now and re-live them later; they are what make you the beuatiful, warm, giving person that you are and we all love you for it. So keep on going beautiful babe; but I agree on one thing, no more short Kiwi's! Txxxxx
3rd January 2007

I wish I was still there too!!
Hey babe! Loving the blog entries - what a great idea. I didn't want to come home on boxing day but had to.NY's day in emergency was fun (as you can imagine) but at least I have been allocated no nights!! Missing you heaps - have tons of stories to swap with you when you get home (oh and pressies to give you too). I agree with your uncle with the "no random kiwis" rule. Oh!! Moving to Herston this week (what a headache) -wish you were here to help me organise. Keep the emails/blogs coming. Love you lots, megs
4th January 2007

hair colour
Yes i remeber our discussion about hair colour and travel. I like the brown hair, but from my past experience of hair colour changes, i now blondes do have more fun. So jealous of your travels and that you got to catch up with the gang over there. I now you will have heaps of fun anyway and dont stress too much about money, rember our other talk? love you lots and looking forward to all the photos (new camera) and stories over some fondue when you get back. xxxxxxxxxSusan x

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb