London Day 3


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Westminster
August 7th 2009
Published: August 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Buckingham PalaceBuckingham PalaceBuckingham Palace

All I remember is that there are 78 bathrooms.
I woke up at 6:00 a.m. with a very sore throat. Tiptoeing around the house, I managed to soothe it with two pieces of Belgium chocolate. Worked like a charm, as long as I was eating!

Hung around the bedroom and uploaded the Covent Garden pictures, played a couple of games, and then my laptop flashed a "battery low" warning. In my haste to get to the living room to plug it into the transformer/ converter .... I fell out of Kim's very high guest bed. Clunk. But I still had the laptop in my right hand, held high so as to keep it safe...can't say the same thing for my right knee and left elbow. I'm sure the bruises will appear shortly. And it's only 10:00 a.m. What will the rest of the day be like???

The herd of turtles moved a bit faster today. We were out of the house by 1:30 p.m. Slow downs occurred while Kim tried to get out the goopy hair conditioner that was plastered all over the back of my head. Let me explain: in an attempt to be travel savvy, I googled and found some nifty toiletries ... shampoo, conditioner and
CloudsCloudsClouds

Winged Victory statute in front of Buckingham Palace. Actually the clouds captured my attention.
body wash that came in little sheets ... like the Listerine sheets. Wow. Packaged in small cases, I thought this was the best invention since sliced bread. Not! The directions instruct you to take 1 to 6 sheets out of the little case, making sure your hands are dry. Okay, so how is that going to happen when one is in the midst of a wet shower. In an effort to continue to explore this wonderful invention, I took out three sheets of each, with a dry hand, and laid them on top of the toilet lid. When I wanted to shampoo my hair, I opened the shower door, grabbed my three sheets and proceeded to stare at them for some time. Now what? Afraid putting water in my hands might make them dissolve before shampooing, I just plastered the semi-damp sheets on my hair. There was enough lather to shampoo a hairless dog. I persevered. I shouldn't have bothered. What a waste of money.

We're almost out the door. One more pit stop. Whereupon I lose a charm off my bracelet in the toilet. Now this is a treasured charm, so I have to fish it out. Enough
Kim at CafeKim at CafeKim at Cafe

We enjoyed our treats at the Palace Cafe.
said. TMI

But we made it to Buckingham Palace in time for our tour. This is probably not something I normally be into, but Kim told me that the palace is only opened for a short period of time in the summer, so why not? I bought postcards because, of course, no pictures allowed.

We walked back to the flat after some picture taking, just in time to sit down for 15 minutes before heading out again to the theatre district to see the longest running play (58 years) in the world, "Mousetrap" by Agatha Christie. Acting was marvelous. My cold was getting the better of me, but I enjoyed it!

Back to the flat, stopping at the grocery store. Kim's refrigerator is soooo small that she has to shop every other day. We voted for frozen pizza (Kim is her mother's daughter ... we are not cooks).

Now it's time to upload pictures, finish this blog and say goodnight. I hope I have better luck staying on top of the bed.






Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Back of the PalaceBack of the Palace
Back of the Palace

I'm in this pic somewhere.
Gardens at Buckingham PalaceGardens at Buckingham Palace
Gardens at Buckingham Palace

I liked the gardens best. I could see myself lying on a blanket on that green grass watching the clouds go by.
EcoFriendly BagsEcoFriendly Bags
EcoFriendly Bags

We donated several pounds to the upkeep of the gold gilt which is abundant in many of the state rooms in the palace. We got a bag.
Where's WaldoWhere's Waldo
Where's Waldo

See if you can spot Kim.
Kim Disguised as WaldoKim Disguised as Waldo
Kim Disguised as Waldo

If you couldn't find Kim in the Finding Waldo pic, here's a hint.
Big BenBig Ben
Big Ben

Peter Pan, Peter Pan, Where are you Peter Pan?
The Phone BoothThe Phone Booth
The Phone Booth

I guess most everyone who comes to London has a pic like this.


8th August 2009

London
OMG! You're too funny! That's my wife...my little sprig of spice! Drink lots of hot tea, I hear Brit's are big on the stuff! Or a hot toddy, that'll cure anything!

Tot: 0.203s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0533s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb