Day 6: The Concert


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Wembley
September 19th 2009
Published: September 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post


Hey all, so day six was quite different!

We decided it would be best to have a bit of a sleep in so we slept till about 830ish - 9am. From there we leisurely got ready and went downstairs for our breakfast. We went over the itinerary and decided what we had left to do and planned how I was getting to Wembley Stadium for the day.

Dad was going to hang out around the area and sort of take it easy, while I was leaving for the concert at 12 noon. The gates opened at 4pm but I wanted a good seat!

I left for the tube and took the central line East to Bond St Station and from there transfered to the Jubilee Line North to Wembley Park. Upon arriving I wasn't sure exactly where the stadium was in location to the tube but had no issues seeing it once I exited the station.

The venue is massive! It holds 90,000+ people! I could see it clearly and started the walk of my life from the station to the stadium. It literally took nearly 40 minutes just to walk to my gate. Crazy size!

I ended up waiting in line for nearly 4 hours. It was boring as hell! However I did meet some random people who helped me here and there.

Once the venue opened at 4pm we were herded into the stadium by security. Once we had our tickets accepted by some barcode machine we were searched by security. I actually had to have my water bottle thrown out as they dont allow bottles into the venue.

So long and short of it, the concert was Indie group White Lies, Pop group Girls Aloud, Rap artist Jay-Z, and headliners Coldplay. It was completely a mixed bag of artists but I enjoyed all of them. Jay-Z isn't really my kind of music but he was a good performer.

The show was great by the other artists and was entertained completely.

I got home around 1130pm and relaxed catching up with Dad who was watching the telly!

Cannot believe tomorrow is our last day here!

Talk soon,

David

Ps. I'll be adding photos later


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



19th September 2009

Glad you had fun! You went to Coldplay by yourself?

Tot: 0.314s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb