Kate & Leo


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Soho
January 18th 2009
Published: February 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After a fantastic Saturday, Sabrina and I took our time getting to Leicester Square on Sunday. We had planned to get there about noon, but stopped for thai food and coffee on the way. We ended up there around 3. They were still setting up some of the fences around the cinema but there were some areas completely caged so that people could sit and wait for the red carpet to arrive. There were two boys that were standing behind one of the gates, so i asked if they were waiting for friends to arrive or if we could stand with them. Everywhere else was completely packed and there would be no way that we would get a front row seat anywhere else unless we stood by the gate. They were not waiting for anyone, so we entered the caged area and thus began the 3 hour wait to see Kate and Leo. Sabrina, being extremely outgoing, decided it was in out best interest to make friends with the boys. Turns out, they are 16 and doing a school project for their media class, they really didn't want to be there. It actually worked out well, standing with our new friends made the time pass rather quickly. They had snacks that they shared, we shared gum and stories. They thought Sabrina was quite mad and didn't understand when we used sarcasm. According to the Brits, American's don't know how to be funny. Apparently, the Brits invented sarcasm and therefore, no one else knows how to properly use it. Nonsense. They said we were alright. We shared stories of growing up American versus British, one of the boys, named Tom, told us how he had been stabbed on the way home from school. I'm not really sure how we got on that topic, actually. They also told us what they thought about girls, Tom was head over heels in love. At 16. Harry never wanted a girlfriend in his life. Ha. He's also the one that ran when he and Tom were walking with a group of girls and were stopped by a gang. Tom stayed behind to protect the girls, I'm not sure Harry should get a girlfriend!
Anyway, the time passed rather quickly. They even let us stand along the fence when the red carpet came out because they didn't really care whether or not they got to touch Kate and Leo. Leo arrived first. He made multiple rounds to screaming fans and then made his way to where we were standing. The crowd was AWFUL. You would not believe some of the people. If felt like I had a stampede had just happened behind me and I was the one on the edge being slammed so hard into the fence that I couldn't breath. Papers and hands were flying all around my head with people screaming in my ears. It was ridiculous. When Leo finally got to me, I could not speak. I was starstruck once again. I was shaking and just kind of stared. I couldn't believe Leonardo DiCaprio was inches away from me. He grabbed my post card and scribbled on it and then handed it back. He was so close. I couldn't move. It all sounds so silly but when you have star standing right in front of you, there is no telling what you will do. He walked away and I still couldn't believe it. Kate was next. The crowd was worse with Kate. Much worse. I had a man that had an entire folder of stars, that he just picked a laminated Kate out of. He pretty much engulfed my entire body to the point I didn't recognize that Kate Winslet was standing to close to me because I was elbowing him in every possible angle I could. He finally got the point and moved on. Kate didn't make it to us though. She was about 2 people down before her publicist moved her on to the media for interviews. It was sad. Only one autograph...haha a tragedy I know. We hung out for a bit and watched everything go on until both Kate and Leo had moved into the theater and our new friends were over the screaming. It was a crazy experience and definitely worth standing around for 3 hours. My first autograph. So cool. I love London.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

I GOT HIS AUTOGRAPHI GOT HIS AUTOGRAPH
I GOT HIS AUTOGRAPH

i promise i didn't do that myself!


Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0616s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb