Oh NO, it's SNOWING!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
February 2nd 2009
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

London has absolutely no preparations for snow. The most they get is a light dusting on any occasion. At this moment, I'm looking out my window from work and would say we have about 4 inches. People are freaking out. I would say about 10 people have come into work today and half of those have left. Alyse got sent home because there was no one there to let anyone in. Every line on the tube has been suspended and some are completely shut down. None of the streets have been salted and the sidewalks are treacherous. The station where I switch trains in the morning was so stocked with people and the trains weren't coming more than every 6 minutes so there was a rush of people when the doors opened. Very dangerous. I took pictures on the way to work, I think it's gorgeous! It's very unusual to get this much snow and there was a guy out video-taping it this morning. I imagine this is how Charleston would be if it got snow, minus the subway system! My office has declared it a bank holiday since there aren't enough people in to do work. My work, except me and my temp status, have gotten a snowday! And we're being sent home...to make sure everyone gets there ok. Ridiculous. One of the largest cities in the world can't handle a bit of snow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

View from the lunchroomView from the lunchroom
View from the lunchroom

i'm obviously entertaining myself, not only on the way to work but during work as well!
Sent home early! Sent home early!
Sent home early!

snowball fight with wenna!


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0619s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb