Tea, Brick Lane, and Pubs


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
May 20th 2012
Published: June 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Tea!Tea!Tea!

Classy tea with John
For the next few days I was very busy. On Friday I went to a classy tea with John. We felt slightly out of place but had a ton of fun. It was more of a modern tea and we were some of the only people in the tea room. The other people there were actually part of a record company who were discussing who they represented, and who they were going to pick up. John works for a radio station at home, so he knew everything they were talking about it. It was very interesting to listen to them!

The next day a group of us went to Notting Hill to shop. We had some great food on the street, too. I found this bowling ball from the 18th century that I really wanted to buy, but I decided to wait on it (more story to continue later). We just adventured around Kensington a lot, and ended up having a great time just wandering. That evening we went to a cool new pub where we could sit outside. The weather had just begun to get nicer so we were trying to be outside as much as possible. After, I ended up going to my friend from high school's birthday party. It was just circumstance that she was in London also, and we found out through facebook. It was really nice to see her again, and she got to meet some of my friends, and I got to meet some of hers!

On Sunday my friends and I went to Brick Lane to get food at the market. Every Sunday there is a large food market on Brick Lane that we all love to go to. There is also an amazing bagel place that we pick up bagels at. The rest of that day I had to study, but at night we went to a cool pub in Covent Gardens. We went to the Lamb and Flag, which Charles Dickens used to go to! They also had live jazz music on, so it was really relaxing and different from what we usually do.

Monday we went back to Brick Lane to go to a curry resturant. Brick Lane is also known for their curry, and you can get meals for pretty cheap. I had a lot of studying to do that day also, but at night I got everyone to go to one of my favorite pubs in London, Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese. This is also a historic pub which people such as Charles Dickens, Mark Twain and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle went to. Everyone liked it much more than I thought that they would, which was reallly nice. We had traditional English food and then headed back to dorms. The next day I had a final exam!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



5th June 2012

nice!
Love your adventures and so glad to see the "study" word in as well. :) Actually, sounds like a very good balance. SOoooo happy you had and are still having such a wonder filled time! hugs

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb