Liverpool Part I


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Merseyside » Liverpool
May 23rd 2012
Published: June 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The Cavern ClubThe Cavern ClubThe Cavern Club

Sam, Adrienne, Hollie, John and Me at the Cavern Club
Tuesday, May 22nd, my friends and I planned to go to Liverpool. I had an exam that morning, so I got up early to study and went to Oxford Circus to sit my exam. I felt that it went well, and I ended with plenty of time to get to the train station. It was a really nice feeling to be totally done with school! I was pretty excited to meet my friends and get on with the train ride.

John, Hollie, Adrienne, and Sam all got there on time for our train, but we all split up really fast to find some food. We ran on the train with about a moment to spare after we all found each other- we wouldn’t want to start a trip without a little adrenaline rush. We were still on our cards phase, so we played go-fish our whole way to Liverpool. We amended the rules and allowed cheating if you don’t get caught, so the game suddenly became a lot more fun. The ride was only about two hours, and since we were very involved in the game and the train was very nice, the journey went very quick.

The cheapest
Matthew StreetMatthew StreetMatthew Street

Sam, me and John on Matthew Street
option for our hostel was to get an apartment-style hotel. It had two rooms; one with an open kitchen, two couches (one was a pull-out bed) and a TV. The other room just had one full bed and lots of extra blankets. We were very excited for how nice it was and didn’t even want to leave the room at first! Once we did leave we headed to Albert Dock. We first visited the Tate Modern Liverpool and evaluated the modern art. Although we did not like a lot of it, some of it was very interesting, and they even had a piece by Warhol there. After our art-fix we went to a pub that had outdoor seating and overlooked the dock. Sam went outside to find us a table and I got our drinks and ordered our food for us. I told Hollie, John and Adrienne that I would meet them outside, and started to go find Sam. I saw him outside and waved as I moved forward out the door. But it wasn’t actually a door. My beer glass hit the big window first, and caused about half the beer to slosh back onto me. The room went silent, and after about 10 seconds, everyone burst into laughter. I just ran to my table and tried not to look at everyone. I was just glad that only Sam saw this embarrassing moment.

After eating we all explored the city a bit, focusing mostly on Matthew Street and some areas that the Beatles hung out in. We stopped in the Cavern pub and listened to two local bands. We had a lot of fun singing along to the songs that we knew, and listening to songs that they wrote themselves. Who knows? They could be the next big famous band!

Then we headed to the Cavern Club just to look around. We sat and listened to a band from Switzerland for a little bit and then headed back to the hotel.

We all bought some cheese and bread for snacks and played cards for a while in the hotel. Then, we headed back to the Cavern Club to listen to a few more bands. I ended up meeting the lead singer of the last band who played, and brought him to meet my friends. It turns out that John had actually met him before because he
The Cavern PubThe Cavern PubThe Cavern Pub

John, me and Adrienne at hte Cavern Pub
had played at his radio station. He gave us all free CD’s and it was a really random encounter! He was very funny, and must have been pretty drunk.

Afterwards we all visited a few more pubs on Matthew Street before heading back to the hotel to get a good night sleep so we could go sight seeing on our last day in Liverpool.

To be continued….


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Train RideTrain Ride
Train Ride

John and Hollie trying to prevent cheating during go-fish
LunchLunch
Lunch

Sam and Hollie at Lunch
The HotelThe Hotel
The Hotel

Sam and John in our great living room in the hotel


7th June 2012

I would bet
That I know Who suggested cheating if you don't get caught.... as I know a young lady that was honing this skill at an extremely early age. She has an Uncle Joseph that mentions it from time to time!! Would also bet this young lady did NOT get caught.... but had a terrific time putting it over on everyone!!!! Sounds like the best trip!!!!

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb