Ottolenghi for Dinner with Mai


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
August 20th 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

OttolenghiOttolenghiOttolenghi

Ottolenghi sells pastries and cakes as well as serving restaurant food out the back. I would thoroughly recommend a visit when visiting London
The glitteringly white tables and modern curved chairs are the first things that catch my eye at Ottolenghi in Islington. My friend Mai is a big fan of this Israeli chef and so she booked a table for us at this hugely popular establishment. I have never heard of him but was always keen to try new food.

The restaurant, in Upper Street Islington, seats about 50 people and serves small portions of food that are similar in size to tapas however the food is very sophisticated and quite scrumptious.

I was happy to let Mai lead the ordering and we started with her choice of grilled peaches, goats cheese, rocket and balsamic vinegar dressing . The goats cheese was creamy and the saltiness cut through the sweetness of the grilled peaches.

We next ordered char-grilled scallops with gremolata, orange and morcilla (Spanish black pudding) and two plates of slow roasted free range pork belly with gooseberry, grape and elderflower relish, chive, mustard cress and apple salad. We ended dinner with delightful servings of lemon and basil ice cream and a berry sorbet.

Mai owns the Ottolenghi cookbook and having loved dinner at the restaurant I think I may have to pick up my own copy very soon.

Mai and I wandered back towards the Angel to take our respective tube rides home - Mai to West Hampstead and me back to Docklands.

Whilst the night started awkwardly with some dodgy dance steps, it ended fantastically with the experience of eating at Ottolenghi - food that will stay with me forever.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.702s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 74; dbt: 0.2281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb