Tate Modern and Swing Dancing


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Southwark
August 20th 2009
Published: August 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

A table with a viewA table with a viewA table with a view

Looking across to St Paul's Cathedral and the Milennium Bridge
I have to confess that I have been a little slack in keeping my blog up to date over the last few days though rest assured good habits are about to return!

So where were we?

Ok so yes I was planning on visiting Tate Modern with my brother and then in the evening going dancing with my friend Mai in Brick Lane.

Its Thursday and Paul and I head off to Tate Modern to see the Futurism Exhibition . Filippo Marinetti launched the Futurism movement when the Futurists Manifesto was published on the front page of Le Figaro in 1909.

The manifesto’s focus was on violence and the destruction of museums, libraries, feminism and morality whilst glorifying war. An interesting but probably unsustainable list of goals I would think!

After doing laps around the exhibition it was up to the Tate Modern restaurant for lunch. There was an early mix-up following the restaurant’s refusal to allow us to choose the set menu however we battled on and ordered our food.

I wasn’t exactly impressed by my pasta lunch though Paul enjoyed his fish as we both enjoyed the views towards St Paul’s Cathedral. After lunch
Orichiette with courgettesOrichiette with courgettesOrichiette with courgettes

I make better at home, not that I'm complaining!
we stopped at Best Italian at Borough Market for coffee (Paul) and gelato (me).

I left Paul at Borough and I returned to the hotel for a siesta in preparation for dancing and dinner with Mai.

Fast forward beyond the siesta and I headed off to Brick Lane for a lesson in Swing dancing.

Regrettably I arrived late for class - a critical mistake if you are taking part in your first swing lesson! I manage to embarrass a succession of dance partners as they rotate around the floor, however once they switch on the music (hey guys, consider music a little earlier in future!) I pick up the rhythm and although my dancing has a touch of Elaine from Seinfeld I finish the class in some style and Mai and I head off to Islington for dinner at Ottolenghi...




Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Tate Modern Tate Modern
Tate Modern

The building that houses Tate Modern was once the Bankside Power Station
Paul outside Tate ModernPaul outside Tate Modern
Paul outside Tate Modern

With lunch eaten and and the exhibition viewed we left Tate Modern. but not before a I took a quick photo of Paul outside the museum
Cheese Stall in Borough MarketCheese Stall in Borough Market
Cheese Stall in Borough Market

The range of cheeses available in and around Borough Market have to be seen to be believed. I just love the fact stall owners are happy to let you try as much as you want!
The sun shining at Borough MarketThe sun shining at Borough Market
The sun shining at Borough Market

I've had some fantastic weather since arriving in England and the sun was shining again at Borough Market as stallholders set up for another weekend.
Neal's Yard DairyNeal's Yard Dairy
Neal's Yard Dairy

The famous cheese shop close to Borough Market - it sells some incredible cheeses including one called the Stinking Bishop!


25th August 2009

Yum yum yum
Lovely to hear all your news Chris. Sounds like you're having a wonderful time, doing heaps and having fun - swing dancing eh? V impressive. And isn't the Tate Modern fabulous - all those familiar images that you normally only see in books. And did you feel the vibe in the Rothko Room?! The Borough Mkts are wonderful - I was there a couple of years ago and loved the Spanish marinated garlic cloves, the abundant chocolate store and the scary fish stall. I also ate the best cheddar I've ever eaten in my entire life from Neal's Yard Dairy. I'd never considered England a cheese destination but wasn't I wrong. Wish I was there enjoying all the sites, sights, sounds and tastes! Keep your news flowing - along with the food and wine of course! Lucy.
12th April 2010

tate modern is one of lovely place to spend vacation. Nice photo shoot.

Tot: 0.324s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb