Day 13: Bewdley to Slimbridge


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire » Gloucester
September 13th 2017
Published: September 19th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I awoke to another sunny morning, although the Welsh Gate Inn owner said the rain was heavy during the evening, as was the winds. Nothing noticed on my end, as I seem to sleep well after 100km rides, up and down hills, and the winds and rains.

While sitting at the restaurant window having breakfast, I spied a steady stream of vehicles with one or two student passengers on their way to school. Each passenger appeared to be zoned out or looking resigned to the prospects of another school day ahead.

I managed to get on an old repurposed rail line, but I had to make a slight detour, as I was routed to a bridge crossing about 60ft above, but with sheer walls on each side below and no trail link, that wasn't going to happen. Once back on track, I was also routed (correctly) through a horserace track (I believe I was first past the post).

I stopped in Worcester for lunch and I ambled around the cathederal for a quick look-see. Immense and impressive structures these cathedrals are.

While having lunch at the Cathedral Cafe, I was accosted by an elderly lady who felt my bike was taking up too much space on the sidewalk and was blocking her walker (she was actually right). I attempted to address her concern. Both her and her friend were nitpicking the restaurant staff with silly demands (eye rolls all around from staff). Possibly their manor house was bring fumigated today, and they had to figure out lunch by themselves.

Today started with more timid flats and minor hills. Then, a little climb through a large and fancy private school ground, which had sculptures scattered throughout the campus. I passed between flocks of students who were moving between building, and then alongside the jocks who were out honing their rugby skills.

It was back to the occasional rain in the afternoon, which abated for a while as I rode through Gloucester. Their waterfront (barge basin) was seeing some development, and the condos (possibly repurposed buildings) were looking quite nice amidst the older section of shops and businessses.

After running along a canal path for a while (varied between good riding to cart path quality), I made Slimbridge for the evening, at which time the rain made a return visit.

So, into the local Inn for a pint, and to check my accommodation options. No camping again, and no rooms available at the inn, but I did get a good room for a fair price at a converted youth hostel. The Wild Goose Lodge was now a B & B, and mid week/off season meant there were only three occupants in private rooms. After settling in, I returned to the Inn for my evening meal, and then back to the B&B to end my day.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb