Day 12: Nantwich to Bewdley


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Worcestershire » Bewdley
September 12th 2017
Published: September 18th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Well, ... crumpets and scones... I awoke to what I believe is called "sunshine"...the day looks promising.

Had a good simple breakfast of cereal and yogurt at the Swan Inn, just outside Nantwich. The full English breakfast is filling, but can get to be a challenge after a week or two. Then back to the room and sneak the bike out, and move quickly on (not wanting to waste a sunny situation).

As the sun was out (still), I was passing lots of hikers and walkers, who were out and enjoying the rain's absence. The countryside was a bit flatter today, as notice by the occasional view from atop the canal bridges and locks. I got onto a bit of an old rail line and then through a private estate (Apley), which went on for miles. As is routine, plenty of pretty, tidy towns and villages along the route

The day progressed into the norm... random and occassionally heavy rains, added to strong, often unfavourable winds. One kilometre at a time ... keep moving, one hill at a time ... keep moving

I had more confusion passing through large centres, as the bike GPS seems to be hyperventilating. Decided to ignore the direction cues & arrows and focus on the actual route track that was showing.

With the increase climbing out of hollows, I was starting to get concerned about time and daylight hours. I was passed at the crest of one long climb by three youngsters (mid twenties), on their way to Land End also. Small rear panniers only and only credit cards for accommodation. I had a slight diversion (loss of route), at one point, that put me beside an ice cream shop. An obvious sign, I put time worries aside and ordered the large turkish delight flavour.

Moving on, I was greeted by more hill climbs, and more rains, but eventually arrive at Bewdley and my destination (Welsh Gate Inn). Doors locked, I hoped my cell service was working and called to be let in.

Success achieved, I ambled down to the pub for my evening meal and ale, then clean up and off to bed.

Of interest... Lots of defibrillators on outside walls in small town, often in the repurposed traditional red telephone pillboxes.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0785s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb