Day 14: Slimbridge to Glastonbury


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Glastonbury
September 14th 2017
Published: September 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

In anticipation of a side trip to Cheddar Gorge (childhood memory revisit), I rose early, ready for another day's cycle.

An appreciatedly simple B & B breakfast and a chat with the two other guests started my day. Both gals were working together doing research on the effects of civilization on the salt marsh habitat in the Severn Estuary. That, plus the North American use of "pants" versus "trousers" was discussed.

We were on a roll with sunny starts, and I again enjoyed some flat riding in the the lowlands. While the land was flat, the road was very uneven and undulating (soft marsh base, I presume). Level didn't last long as I worked towards Bristol. Today was big bridge day, as I passed by the modern Severn-Wye Bridge (linking England to Wales), and later, underneath the historic Clifton Suspension Bridge (in Bristol, spanning the Avon Gorge).

At the base of the Mendip hills, it was a huge hill climb which turned to a comfortable run across the flattish top. As the hills were time killers, I decide to forego Cheddar Gorge, as I would be arriving there at closing time and I was unsure of the challenges ahead.

Prior to descending, I happened across a Caravan Club (similar to KOA) shop. After two well earned ice creams, it was move-on time. The vista, as I came to the other side of the hilltop, was astounding. Both Wells and Glastonbury could be seen in the distance, as could other towns and hills

The descent would have been awesome, except for the steepness, the sharp turns, and twists. As such, the reward of the climb wasn't realized, as the brakes were on for most of the drop down.

After an easy cycle into Glastonbury, and a quick weather check, I decided to try the camping routine again (after many days of rain). Upon payment at the gate, I found the camping field, which had about 8" of grass and numerous wet spots. With little option now, I set up the tent as I gingerly stepped through the damp grass.

That being done, I happened across Joe America (not sure of his last name) in the laundry/dish cleaning room. Recently retired, he was cycling England... after cycling Greece, Ireland, Australia, and a few other countries ending in "istan". Joe was travelling about 50km per day, using maps alone, as cell phones and GPS (which he had) were proving to be witchcraft for him. After Joe time, I headed into Glastonbury to check out the town and for pizza and expensive beer at an Italian eatery.

Returning to the campground, it was shower time, then device recharge time. This consisted of plugging in the devices and lurking in the laundry room and chit- chatting with the occasional campground patrons doing laundry and dishes before bedtime. That done... off to bed... and that done... the rain started.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb