Day15: Glastonbury to Exebridge


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Somerset » Dulverton
September 15th 2017
Published: September 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Morning arrived, and while I had slept comfortably in my tent, it had rained overnight.

No avoiding it...priority one... need to pee. After the mad rush to the washroom block, the slog through the long wet grass, and a quick shower, it was soggy tent packing time. Bike loaded, I had a morning briefing with Joe America (neighbouring cyclist/tenter), and then I was on my way to find my morning coffee.

Rather than mount an expedition to find a morning friendly eatery, I headed to the Morrison's (mega grocery store with restaurant) that I has spied yesterday. I made it, after almost getting t-boned at a busy roundabout. Morrison's was my meal/coffee break theme for the day, as they also popped up trailside in Bridgwater and Taunton.

More salt flats riding to start my morning, then back into the hills.

I did have an exquisite and easy ride along canal paths between Bridgport and Taunton. Lots of waterfowl along the way. On one section, I was causing flight to herons every few hundred metres as I progressed. With such easy riding, I would occassionally stop to talk to locals, or to snack on the wealth of blackberrys along the way. Eventually I was back into rolling countryside.

Then, I hit Taunton. After Taunton, the hills were not so friendly, and this coincided with the start of rain. The rain was random, but moved between light to substantially heavy.

In anticipation of hillier territory and rain, I had revised my destinatiom of Winsford, on Exmoor, to Exebridge, beside Exmoor, and 9 miles closer. Exebridge was chosen based on route proximity and B & B availability.

As I progressed, the hills were proving challenging, and my arrival time was being pushed back more and more. After I hit Banburn, I asked a homeowner, who was doing lawn maintenace, the quickest route.He advised that where I was heading was not it. I decided to ignore the GPS (set to bike routes) and take to the A or B roads. Still more steep hills, but I eventually made my destination with daylight to spare.

The B & B hosts were wonderful and very cycle trekker friendly. With help, I hung my sodden tent and ground sheet in the owner's woodworking shed, and also had my sodden shoes hung by the fireplace.

While supper was not supposed to be part of the B & B deal, I was invited to share in a hearty chicken stew and some freshly baked bread. Local apple cider was offered, and not refused, and refills were provided to complement a very enjoyable evening of conversation.

Then, off to bed, as I was forewarned of Devon and Cornwall's reputation for short, but steep hills, and I had 110kms coming my way.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0953s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb