Colchester


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex » Colchester
October 2nd 2006
Published: September 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Art ExhibitionArt ExhibitionArt Exhibition

This was the exhibition I mentioned. It was so pretty.
Hi Everyone,

I hope you're all well. I'm in Colchester at the moment and have been for about a week. I came back to see Trevor's family here, Pat, John, Kevin and Mary. It's been nice to be back in a homey environment after spending over a month in hostels. They're great, but it's good to take a break from them. Thank you all for looking after me during my time here. The highlight had to be playing cards and winning when it was only my first time playing Phase 10. And no Pat I didn't cheat. I won't gloat though........

From my last entry I've been to York and Liverpool. I only went to Liverpool as I really like the accent. Everyone here seems to either love it or hate it. It was a really interesting place. It's much bigger than I imagined. The Beatles are played everywhere you go, and they must know every song off by heart even if they didn't want to. It's a bit like Cardiff, not the safest of places but I really liked it. York was great as well. I went on a ghost tour. It wasn't the best ghost tour but it was interesting. York's meant to be the most haunted cities in England, and it is a bit spooky at night, but that's probably my imagination. I saw a really beautiful art exhibition and the photo is below. It looked like a room full of bubbles, and the bubbles are made of hair nets with a coil of fishing wire inside the net to give it its shape. I also went to have a look at the local courthouse as it was a nice building. The police said I could watch some cases and I did. It was interesting but pretty boring after four cases. They were mainly assaults and 'disorderly behaviour.' I didn't know people could still get arrested for it - I see so much of it whenever I go out at night. And I don't just mean in England........

Then I came back through London. After over a month away from cities it seemed more rushed than my first time there. I really liked the quietness of Wales, and even Devon and Cornwall are a lot quieter and I'd forgotten what it was like. I was able to catch up with Marjorie and Norman though and
Hostel in YorkHostel in YorkHostel in York

This was the hostel I stayed in. It's a Georgian mansion and sooo nice.
they were as welcoming as they always are. From there I went to Colchester and stayed at Kevin's and Mary's for the week. Tonight I'm off to Pat's and John's giving me a lift to the train station in the morning and I'm back in Plymouth to do some teaching. Hopefully the teaching agency proves better than they appear to be..........

I hope you're all looking after yourselves.

Missing you all

Love Danielle.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Street in YorkStreet in York
Street in York

This was a street in the Shambles. It was a street of butchers with shop windows from the street. Check out how close the houses are together at the top.


Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb