Brighton for Easter


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton
March 22nd 2008
Published: March 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Night shotNight shotNight shot

Brighton Pier
Easter in Brighton

We both had the day off on Thursday so we spontaneously decided to go the Brighton for the weekend. It only took 1 hour on the train and we managed to score a cheap hotel on lastmin.com and we were stoked to see that it was right on the water front.

The sun was shining but the wind was freezing and we were expecting to see some snow. The first day we went on a tour of the Royal Pavilion, it was great and I learnt a lot about King George IV and how he lived. It was amazing to see the chandelier in the banqueting room weighed a ton and held up by the claws of a silvered dragon suspended from the apex of the ceiling.



I had a challenging time trying to feel the water without getting wet, but once I did get my hand in I realised it was freezing and had shooting pains in my hand for the next 5 minutes. Once I thawed out we went on the oldest electric train in the world, going since 1883, which took us 15 min down the road to the marina
Royall PrivalianRoyall PrivalianRoyall Privalian

The Royal Privalian
and boardwalk where we had lunch and shopped in the outlet shop. Got back to the pier had a look around before the hail storm came. Lucky the weather fined up again and I managed to go back into the cold to get some cool photos of the sun set, seconds later I got caught in another hail storm. Dale and I were so amazed to see 3 surfers out in full wetsuits gloves and booties, but dumbfounded to later see two people in their togs out swimming. It was a great weekend getaway and we are happy we got to see the ocean again and loved the pebble beach.



Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Dressed up manDressed up man
Dressed up man

I gave the man all my stupid english coins. Yes! now I have room in my wallet.
MeMe
Me

Putting my hand in the water was challenging because of the dip from the pebble stones to the sea
Wheres the dip?Wheres the dip?
Wheres the dip?

You gotta be there to see the dip
The Marina The Marina
The Marina

Lots of nice boats
ColdCold
Cold

IT was cold, very cold


Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb