Climbing Everest


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Cumbria » Barrow-in-Furness
April 6th 2007
Published: August 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

For easter I went up to the Lakes District. Getting there was a nightmare. I left straight after work on Thursday. 7 hours later I arrived into Barrow. Firstly it was delayed, then when I got on it was so packed. I sat on my pack the whole way in the aisle, unfortunately I was close to the toilets so I had to stand up to let people through every few minutes (A lot of them rude and obnoxious, I should have locked them in there). On the plus side I did manage to get a lot of reading done. I'm reading Gridlock by Ben Elton, he is one funny guy.

Nic's dad is big on outdoor activities so on Friday he took us out for a walk. I was expecting a bit of a casual stroll. Wrong. After about two minutes we were scrambling up rocks almost vertically. Nic informed her Dad that I wasn't a fan of heights. I'm not sure if he was listening because all he said was how he enjoyed scrambling more than using ropes, because of the risk element, if we fell we would die. Comforting. I was surprisingly calm, and the view was worth it.

At the top we managed to find a pond to sit at for lunch, it was excellent for skimming and I managed to teach Nic how to get more than one.

Later on we climbed down into a big slate quarry. A whole heap of people have pushed cars down into it, and someone had dropped a washing machine, random. Bit of a shame really, not for the stuff but for the quarry, it has mucked it up a bit. Speaking of mucking up, Nic was trying to practice her new found skimming abilities and somehow managed to put her foot right in. So clumsy, it cracks me up.

A whole heap of Nic's mates were back for the weekend so we trained out to her friend Nancy's house in Ulverston to have a night out. I was a little outnumbered on the sex stakes, (not supposed to sound kinky) by 6 girls to 1 me. Jill, one of Nic's longest friends was playing devils advocate and made sure all of us were rather merry. It was a great night out and big thanks to Nancy for putting us up. (Even if she did get up early to make horrible noises, and by that I mean her scraping her oven and not her singing, although some would say that is pretty bad).


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0391s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb