D+5 Maidenhead


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Berkshire » Maidenhead
July 12th 2008
Published: July 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

D+5 Maidenhead

It was good having a rest day in Oxford. We needed a break to sort ourselves out after 4 days on the road and Joy needed some well deserved retail therapy. Although we have had a lot of rain thankfully it has been dry everytime we made or struck camp. Our tent is a Terra Nova Solar 2 Plus but quite small inside to pack up panniers and carry out normal chores etc. Whilst this camping lark is a bit like a busman's holiday for me, for Joy its a bit of a novelty. However I'm surprised how quickly she is adapting to it all. She already knows exactly where everything is in her panniers even if she doesn't know what it is used for - she is carrying some spares and tools for the bikes.
Not surprisingly the traffic is getting heavier as we get closer to London. We have also noticed that the attitude of drivers is becoming less patient. Everybody seems to be in a rush and many don't care for their fellow road users - particularly cyclists.
Today we passed through Hendly whilst the Regatta was on. I don't think I have ever felt so under dressed in my life. We quickly moved on to our new campsite just outside Maidenhead and was pleasently surprised to see 3 Red Kites circling overhead - apparently, according to the site owner, they breed nearby. As we were miles from the nearest town we decided to cook a meal and bought a tin of chilli from the camp shop. The tin was marked 'dangerously hot' but from experience food in tins is never that hot. Anyway to cut a long story short this was one of the hotest meals we have had in a long time. The end result was many trips to the loo throughout the night made worse by the rain.



Advertisement



25th August 2008

Dead jealous..
Hi, I've been looking for your blog for weeks, now I've found you. How is it going? I hope those little legs are working hard Joy! I am on my break on a night shift, it's just Pat, Jack and I but it's quiet so ok.. don't you just miss it? No I bet you feel like a million miles from all this, you lucky devil. Anyway I never got to wish you luck; I hope everything goes swimmingly, have fun, hope to communicate again soon, love Natalie xx

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0879s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb