My Day in Zurich-Tower Climb


Advertisement
Switzerland's flag
Europe » Switzerland » North-East » Zürich
September 21st 2006
Published: December 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

View from the TowerView from the TowerView from the Tower

Amazing views of Zurich from the top. Worth the couple euros and intensive stair climb!
Hi all!!! Arrived in Zurich yesterday and got up and going this morning to see the sites. It's my only full day in Zurich to site see. Am staying a little out of town so it was great to have the drive in and catch glimpses of the City to come. It looks so Swiss 😊 Walked through Central Station to connect with the river which cuts north and south through Zurich making it an easy landmark for getting around. Impossible to get really lost here since the city slopes down toward the river. Walked down by the lake and was so hopeful to see the famous stained glass windows of St. Peter but was disappointed to find that the Church has been closed since April, 2006 for renovations. The River is amazingly clear-full of swans.

Crossed to go to Grossmunster-the second site on my list to see. Much smaller church on the inside than it appears on the outside. Beautiful stained glass windows and pretty organ area. Baptismal area has a very old bible protected by glass. Paid a couple euros to climb the Tower. Word of warning...the person who took my money asked if I was claustrophobic. I
GrossmunsterGrossmunsterGrossmunster

View of the towers. I climbed the one on the left.
said I wasn't. She said that was good because the first 60 steps are kind of tight. They were. Just a person's width and circling. High steps for a short gal like me. What the money taker didn't mention was that after the first 60 steps there was still another 300 to go! It was so worth it. The views from the top were amazing of Zurich. I'll post here. I had been so consumed with clock towers and at my Tower view I noticed that every tower has a clock on it! It was a little hazy so could only barely make out the mountains in the distance.

Climbed down (much easier on the way down) and was surprised to find a Starbucks near by. It was located right across from a sex shop. That still surprises me coming from the States. Had an enjoyable lunch and journaled about my morning. Still getting used to getting mineral water when I order water. Didn't want to be American and order a diet coke but then a couple Swiss guys sat down next to me and ordered diet coke. Guess that doesn't mean anything 😊. Been wonderful to slowly tour
Another View from the TowerAnother View from the TowerAnother View from the Tower

Looking toward where the River and Lake connect.
the city. Cobblestone streets, chalet type buildings, and beautiful scenery. Was surprised to find that even though Zurich is Switzerland's largest city, it is only about 500,000. Just seems like it should be bigger.

After lunch, went and sat down where the River and Lake connect. It was a beautiful day. Wrote out some postcards and just enjoyed being here. People watched for awhile. Very different from the States in that I see dogs going into shops with their owners (and they're not guide dogs)! Spent the afternoon walking in and out of shops and picking up some souveniers. The City is very clean but would be tough to live here and have disabilities. Very inaccessible-mainly due to its age. Slowly walked back along the Bahnhofstrasse to meet my shuttle back to the hotel. Heading back to the hotel to refresh and recharge for a bit. Tomorrow, I have the morning to try to tour the Swiss National Museum and then it's off on the bus to Venice!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Very pretty ZurichVery pretty Zurich
Very pretty Zurich

Down near the Lake...so pretty. Picture doesn't do it justice. Water is so clear!!!


28th December 2006

Jealous
You have actually done more in this city than I have! :)

Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0151s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb