El Camino De Santiago


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
April 28th 2008
Published: April 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ME! ME! ME!

This is toward the end of our journey... so I'm a littttle beat.
I survived! I got back from the camino last night- and wow, what an experience. Hundreds upon hundreds of people from all over the world! Literally- Korea, Russia, Canada, Germany, you name it, they were there. It was a brutal few days and I give so much credit to those people that choose to walk the full 31 days. Each morning we would get up at 5 am... start walking by 6 am... and finish depending on the destination. It was usually about 12 miles a day (25 km)... some days it would take 12 hours, others only 7.... it differed with the terrain. The path is lead by seashells, or conchas. But, man, the mountains were unreal and the whole feeling was indescribable. I was alone, but I felt like I knew everyone walking with me. As corny as it sounds, we were like this massive family, all working together to get to the next place... and each city welcomed us with open arms (something that you don't always see in Spaniards). I walked primarily with some women from Canada... it was nice to be able to speak English for awhile. 😊 But, it was also an awesome chance to
One of the refugeesOne of the refugeesOne of the refugees

This one happened to house 110 ppl... and was full, along with the other too hostels in town, and the neighboring town. That's A LOT of people walking.
use my Spanish skills.... and improve them because I was the interpreter for everyone. haha And the majority of people from different countries, spoke Spanish. I can't wait to go back and walk the full thing with my dad.... he has yet to agree to this, but he'll give in one of these days. 😉 Oh and I know a few of you who will appreciate this... I stayed true to my nature and overpacked. Everyone else's pack weighed about 10 to 12 kilos (so 20 lbs)... well mine weighed 20 kilos. You do the math. That's about 40 frickin' lbs. Talk about carrying your burdens with you, right? My back and hips have never been more sore in my life. My hip flexers were numb and my back broke out in a massive heat rash. ehh. Needless to say, I think I learned my lesson for the next time. Anyway, I'll stop rambling for now. Wednesday I am off to Southern France for a few days. 😊 As much as I would give to go back to the states right now, I am beyond pumped to explore all these cities. I just have to keep telling myself only a
One of the markersOne of the markersOne of the markers

Everyone leaving one of their burdens on the sign. Rocks were piled like this on every sign.
month and half before I can eat a chicken caesar salad wrap from donatelli's. haha

Okay, well I'm off to pack some more. Fun fun fun, right? Adios!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

My walking buddiesMy walking buddies
My walking buddies

Bundled up and ready to roar at 6 am. We were troopers. Just think... they are still out there walking! For the next month! Yikes!


30th April 2008

You are a ROCK STAR for JESUS!
Vanessa, I am soooo proud of you darling young lady! Did you pile up a few burdens for me too? OK, I'll walk with you in the future, not sure of the whole 31 days..... I am praying for your safety and that you have a wonderful next leg of your European EDventure! You are learning a ton aren't you? Oh yeah, sorry to say your bank account for this trip has gone dry. Sorry to lay this heavy burden on you at this late juncture. Oh well, I am sure you will improvise just fine. What about stone soup? Love you, papa

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb