Hasta luego...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
April 20th 2008
Published: April 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

¡Hola a todos!

The time has come... two days left before I leave for backpacking. :/ I don't know if I'm going to have time to post while I'm traveling, so I thought I'd do one last hoorah. There's so much that I want to do before I leave on Wednesday, but not enough time. My friends and I spent Friday and Saturday painting the town red for one last time. I think it was my favorite memory so far. 😊 I am going to miss this crazy mixture of people that I now consider to be my some of my closest friends. Time goes way too fast... I guess I still have a couple months of memories left to make, so I'll withhold my sappiness for now. 😉 I'll be home OFFICIALLY on June 12th at 5:30 pm. 😊 I plan on eating AMAZING food, watching The Office and Ugly Betty, and going to Target. haha If anyone wants to join me in these activities, you are more than welcome.

So, between now and the 12th here are my tentative plans:

On Wednesday I leave for a week of hiking through the Pyrenees Mountains on a pilgrimage called "El Camino de Santiago". I'm going with one of my best friends from here, so I'm really excited about that. It's a pilgrimage to where they believe James from the bible is buried in Santiago. It's actually a path that many many different religions have taken throughout history. It normally takes about 40 days to do with about 23 km per day of walking.... I'm only giving myself a little taste of it and hopefully throughout my life, I can eventually finish it. Wish me luck though... I guess it's through some rough terrain. No worries, mom and dad.... I have the proper hiking boots. 😊

After that, I am off to Florence to meet up with one of my gal friends, and from there I'll be going to see the leaning tower of Pisa. Then I have a solid day and a half straight of train and ferry rides over to Greece, where I'll be spending time in Athens, Olympus, and a few different islands.

From there, I get to meet up with Alysia for the remainder of my trip, and just in time for my birthday! 😊 We'll be starting in Naples (where we'll get to see Pompeii--- SOOOO PUMPED for that!), then up to Rome, and Venice. After Italy, we're heading to Munich, Salzburg, Prague, Berlin, and Zurich. In Germany we're going to see the Cinderella Castle, along with a concentration camp. After all this, if we are still alive and still have money (which will probably not be the case), we're going to go to the highest point in Europe! It's in the swiss Alps... so keep your fingers crossed. 😊

K, I'm done rambling about myself. I just want to share with all the people that I love! 😉 I wish that I could have a few of you here helping me to pack.. because we all know that me living out of backpack for two months is impossible.

I found a job as a full-time nanny this summer in MN... so until we can catch up in person, please keep me up to date about the happenings of the midwest. For those of you in escuela, good luck with finals!

¡Os amo!

Un beso,

Ness

ps- any last minute gift orders? i'm finishing all my shopping tomorrow, so let me know gang.

Advertisement



20th April 2008

What fun!
Hello Nessa! What an amazing end to what has sounded life a life altering trip! I am so glad you have had this opportunity's. Enjoy the next few months too! I got your post card last week. I meant to write you sooner! Thank you so much! I love that i was more interesting than your class. Life in the Midwest is slowly warming up and becoming bearable. It finally stopped raining and the large puddles are leaving campus! Aside from that life is good. Only 27 days left until the summer. Miss you, see you next fall!

Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb