El fin de semana en Granada


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
April 1st 2008
Published: April 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

¡Hola!

The weather here is really perking up and it makes it difficult to do any work, so here I am, procrastinating once again. Classes at my university are over in two weeks, which means they are piling on the work.... but we all continue to travel and NOT do our work. Ooppps? :/ Oh well, the professors should know that doing homework in Europe is a big no no.

This past weekend, ten of my friends and I visited a small city in southern Spain, called Granada. Such a gorgeous place! The city is surrounded by mountain ranges, one being the Sierra Nevadas.... seeing snow on the top of them made me a little homesick. Granada is home to the famous Alhambra, which is a fortress that I believe was once one of the Seven World's Wonders or was on the list to be one. Who knows.... we got up at 6 in the morning to go and wait in line for tickets and not to be a debby downer or anything, but I would have rather slept. haha It was cool and pretty, but I feel like I've seen a million other things like it. Aside from
Mis Amigos y Yo en the hot springs Mis Amigos y Yo en the hot springs Mis Amigos y Yo en the hot springs

*Sorry for any accidental nudity of other people in the springs...
that, we didn't do anything all weekend.... it was actually perfect. After Paris and London, I was ready to relax. And who better to do nothing with then a great group of people? The weather was soooo great... we wore sundresses, skirts, and FLIP FLOPS every day and just shopped in all of the little markets, along with eating some ammmazing homemade meals in our hostel. 😊 I could have definitely stayed there for awhile longer... it's supposed to be 80 there this week; so wonderful. We did do something a little out of the ordinary there.... we went in hot springs! :D :D The hostel has all of these activities to do, so we decided that a night of relaxing in some NATURAL hot springs would be great. Well, when they say natural, they mean naurrrallll. Pitch dark, muddy, naked hippies everywhere, along with their dirty dogs, and their dirty dogs poop. Besides that initial shock, the water did feel great and we made sure to shower and scrub real well afterward. It was an experience though, right? haha

This weekend, we are going to San Sebastian with our program. Supposedly it is this gorgeous beach town with the best tapas or pinchos in Spain, producing some of the best chefs that Europe has ever had. That may be a rumor to get us all to go on the trip, but hey, it's working. haha It's sad to think that this is the last weekend that all of my friends and I will be together. I feel like I am just getting to know them and now we will all be going our separate ways. At least I have an excuse to travel the US now and visit them all.

Well, I have to run some errands downtown (don't worry Dad, I'm not shopping.... mostly just returns. 😉 ) I hope that the snow passes over quickly because snow in April is absolute ridiculousness! If any of you feel like getting out of that cold weather, a tile floor in Barcelona has your name on it. haha

Un Beso,

Ness

Advertisement



1st April 2008

Wow! Sounds like you had a super time!
I can't believe that your schooling is almost wrapped up. I'm so glad that you have made such great friends and that you have seen so many beautiful places. What an opportunity! Now onto your next leg when I really get to worry about you--traveling to various/random sites, maybe being alone between destinations, meeting new people, doing things that I probably don't want to hear about....! The naked hippies/hot springs gig was enough already! Seriously, I am very proud of you for being so adventurous and couragious and I know you'll use your head and stay safe, right? Just keep telling me that...:) I love you, sweetie, Mom
1st April 2008

Snow in april? Common 'nessa. YOu gotta believe we got that here in MN. It snowed like 5 inches on March 31st (last night!!). Happy April Fools!! :)

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0575s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb