Oh, the joys of traveling.


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
May 9th 2008
Published: May 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Athens or as the Greeks like to say, Giasas!

I arrived here a couple days ago and met up with one of my good friends, Thea, from Barca. We hit up one of the nearby islands for a day and then did a 7 hour walking tour of Athens today. We were exxxhausted, but it was so great to see the acropolis and other greek and roman ruins. Tomorrow morning I leave for a week on the island of Santorini, where they are known for their black sand beaches. I'm excited to just be in one place for a little bit and relax! The food here is UNREAL. So healthy and so much better than Spain. We decided that we were jipped all semester with horrible, expensive food. I'm meeting up with one of my other gal friends, Macon, in Santorini, so it should be fun! It's nice traveling with ppl... before Greece, it got a little lonely at times. Nice and Florence were gorgeous, but it's always more fun to have someone their to experience it with. I visited Lysh in Aix-en-Provence to start- SUCH a cute little french town! I can understand why she fell in love with it. 😊 Nice was great- layed out on the stone beaches all day and hiked around one of their parks. And then it was on to Florence, which was a treat! Even though I wasn't with people, I was surprisingly able to meet up with about 6 different friends, who just happened to be there at the same time as me! Small world, I know. There were a few guys and girls from my Barca program, and then a few girls from St. Bens. Crazy times. I'm excited that I'll have some more time to experience the Italian culture.... it's definitely an interesting one. Again, amazing food and even more amazing open air markets. I have never seen such cheap leather and cashmere. It's hard to hold myself back. Hostels, trains, buses, and ferries have been a trip in themselves so far. Nothing scary or unsafe ever happens because I am so paranoid, but I have definitely learned to get over my germ phobia. haha Actually, scratch that... I have learned to deal with it; hand sanitizer is my new best friend. All I can say is it will be nice to be back in MN, with my own bed, shower, and food.... even if my wonderful mother has given my dog my bed. But, all in all, I am loving experiencing all these new things. I miss everyone like crazy, but only about a month left! I don't think I'll ever be able to grasp the fact of how fast time flies. Okay, well I'm off to pack up and hit the hay. I'd love to hear about how school is finishing up and ppl's plans for summer. 😊

LOVE. YOU. ALL!!!! Happy Summer!!!!!!!

Advertisement



10th May 2008

Wow, what an experience!
Hi Ness, I'm so glad that you can land for awhile and just relax. Sounds like you will have lots of stories to tell us--I can't wait to see your photos and hear about your travels. Please be careful when you're traveling alone. I know it doesn't help to worry, and I'm trying not to. I'm glad you have been aware of your surroundings and are using your head! Have a wonderful time and I'll make sure Miles keeps your bed warm... I love you, sweetie!
11th May 2008

Nessa! you didn't tell me you went to Nice or Aix-en-Provence! But I'm so glad you did! I'm glad you enjoyed Nice.... it is so great and I love the giant hill.... best view of the sea! did you swim in the Mediterranean? I hope so! I can't wait to see you in about a month! Anna just called me the other day. She's back from London! yayaya! And she's living up here this summer so that'll make it fun too! be safe and I'll see you soon chica! Love you!!! MaryEllen
12th May 2008

So, big plans for your 21st? I didn't realize that you shared the same B-day as Antoine. When you get back I'm taking you out, I miss having you here to go to Chino Latino's with. Yes, I could go with someone else, but it wouldn't be the same :) I really miss you, but I'm so glad you have the opportunity to experience life like you are! I will definatley have to go back with you some day!! Work has been crazy so I haven't had much of a life. But I'm looking forward to all the summer events. I'm hoping you'll go to the Twin Cities Jazz Festival with me, Jun 20, 08 – Jun 29, 08. Miss you, love you, Trinette
12th May 2008

you be the lucky one!
Vanessa Fraenkel- life sounds maaaavvvvaaaaalesssss for you. Enjoy every minute of your down time with Macon. I know you have both been "counting the days" for this special time to be together. So, are the guys cute and fun? Did I hear that there are GREAT nudist beaches there? You young ladies keep learning soooo much in Europe. On a serious note: stay safe and god bless you both. Vanessa, we look forward to your next posting. Love you, papa (the guy who has your online finances under wraps) Yeah!!!

Tot: 0.21s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb