As the saying goes, "When in Rome..."


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lazio » Rome
May 20th 2008
Published: May 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I still have yet to figure out what that saying means, so if any of you know, you should fill me in! haha I don't exactly remember that last time that I posted, but I think it was in Athens.. so I'll go from there. Santorini was GORGEOUSSSS. I haven't finished my traveling yet, but I'm pretty sure it is going to be my favorite. I was ready for a few days of relaxing on the beach, and that's exactly what I did. I met up with a friend of mine and it was a week of hiking, yoga, 4 wheelers, and bumming around on the beautiful black sand beaches. Our hostel was the best that I have stayed in- we had a kitchen, bathroom, balcony, free dvds, pool, and were right across from the beach... all for 12 euro a night! It was perfect and I was sad to leave. After a horrendous two days of traveling, I arrived to Naples. Here, I stayed in a hostel owned by a man named Giovanni. Make sure to ask me stories about this dude, because he was onnne character. haha For my birthday he made everyone dinner, sang us italian songs, and took me on a three hour moto ride through the city where we tried the best gelato and espresso the town had to offer! It was a different 21st than most ppl experience, but it was still great. Alysia met up with me there and helped me celebrate a little more! 😊 We're currently in Rome.... and it's pouringgg cats and dogs. Sight seeing is just not the same when it's constantly raining... but we still do it. Obviously.... along with the other million tourists here. Yesterday we went to see the coliseum, which was sooooo great! So much better than I expected. Today we went to Vatican City and saw the Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's Basilica. Tomorrow morning we're attempting to get out of here by 8 am to see the Pope. Traveling is a blast, but I'm starting to get a little worn out... I think my clothes and wallet feel the same way. It'll be nice to get home and start making some money instead of constantly spending it. (Dad, I'm sure you're happy to hear that one 😉 ) Vale, well I'm off to sleep. See you guys oh so soon!

Some fun facts if you're interested:
- The word arena means sand.... arenas got there name today because of the sand that was used on the floor of the coliseum when people would fight.
- The word sue, as in to sue someone, came about because in old Roman times, people used to throw their sewage out the window at night... and one night a man went to the court and complained that sewage had dropped on him and wanted to press to charges.

More to come, hopefully. 😊



Advertisement



21st May 2008

You are loved!
Hey beautiful girl... your papa sure misses you. Can't wait to finally hug you when you return to our little corner of the world on June 12th. In the meantime, enjoy your final legs of your European EDventure with Alisia. God bless you both as you flap your wings soaring to the highest heights Italy has to offer. As for "When in Rome....", I believe it simply conveys this: Wherever you are, do as the locals do, experience it fully! I know you are doing that. Love to you and Alysia, Happy Trails, Dad

Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb