travel..you are my sunshine my only sunshine you make me happy when skies are gray


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
November 18th 2013
Published: November 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So it hasn't stopped raining since I arrived here. Kind of like miami when is rainy season where it comes down for days except colder. But i do believe in taking advantage of places while you are there so after I got over my jet lag spent the day with a tour guide from south africa *another lovely accent* whom lives here for the past year. He was very nice and as we were the only people that showed up for the free tour had a personalized individual tour to ourselves. Ourselves being my lovely college friend Miriam whom joined me from NYC. We met at a travelerls bar which was pretty cool filled with travel quotes pictures and you guessed it..travelers!

We then went and although it was pouring so badly I had to buy an umbrella we saw a variety of gaudi buildings and plazas including catedral, plaza real, plaza cataluna, palau de la musica, casa batlo, la pedera and la rambla. We also saw the document issued by Spain to Chrisopher Columbus and saw where the slaves were brought in from america. We also went to the jewish quarter and saw an old synagogue. During the pogrom buildings with hebrew writig inscribed in the stone were destroyed. They later used some of these blocks to build a church!

I also had a gyro chips aka fries and a beer for $6 euro about $7.50. Instead of a soda or water choice is beer always good. It was alot of fun seeing the city from a locals point of view and after we got spanish hot chocolate.

Off to siesta then paella! Def hapy I brought extra socks!

Besos!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1241s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb