Spain (Barceonla, Sevilla, Granada, Madrid)...What to See, Eat, Know


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Andalusia » Seville
November 27th 2013
Published: November 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Well as you may have noticed, l've been very busy researching for my blog by exploring the world starting with parts of Europe. I had the pleasure of having company for my first country and she helped me find the focus of my blog: See, Eat, Know. As I was getting ready for my trip I was overwhelmed with information and I realized in the end all I really wanted to know was what to see, what fabulous distinct foods and drinks were available and what safety and anti-scam tips someone might have for me.

Please remember these are only my opinions and I have not been everywhere in these cities, nor do I have multiple visits to these cities. I hope I will help you in a small way if you ever decide to visit yourself! If I miss anything feel free to comment below.

First up was Barcelona. I only had 2.5 days here but I would advise you take a free walking tour which are based on tips. These are usually led by young enthusiastic locals and are a lot of fun. So far I have gone on one the first day of every city and they have been such a big help.

DO: See Las Ramblas, as much Gaudi architecture as possible (Casa Batlo, Casa Mila, Segrada Familia). I also went to Park Guell which recently started charging admission. I only had about 30 minutes so I did not pay to get in but it was a beautiful view. Also one of my long term favorites is the Boqueria Market tons of fresh fruit, cheese and meat.

EAT: Tapas! Tapas! Tapas! Look for a menu with no english that is packed with locals. Paella can be popular as well I wasn't a huge fan but worth trying. Chocolate y churros..great dessert especially for me in November! Ham is very well known and fresh fish as well. Bread is lovely as well.

Make sure to check out the market above.

KNOW: I didn't come across this but be aware of pick pockets. Nothing to be scared of just be aware of your surroundings and take that extra second to always put your wallet away. Make sure you have a good bag you can easily keep an eye on with compartments. Also realize that mid week there won't always be people out late. I assumed as it was spain it would be a non stop party and went out and no one was there so don't assume you know how a city will be, especially in off season and various neighborhoods. Don't bother with a taxi the metro is a great way to get into the city and it is walkable once settled in.

SEVILLA:

DO: Plaza de Espana is amazing, Santa Cruz neighborhood, Metropol or the mushroom..just ask a local they wil know, take a tour of the jewish quarter, Alcazar (I just went outside but still nice), Sevilla Cathedral, Torre del Oro, Macarena, a flamenco show, and Triana

EAT: Adobo fish tapas, salmorejo, try sangria once but realize it's not a local norm so try as much wine as possible and a menu of the day where you can get a soup appetizer and entree often including wine or a dessert

There is a great market in Triana area, Mercado de Abastos

KNOW: Sevilla has many small streets and can be confusing. Make sure to have a map at all times!

GRANDA: Take a day trip from Sevilla!

MADRID:

DO: Royal Palace, Retiro Park, the Prado, Sunset by the Temple, Almudena, Prado, San Miguel Tapas Market-Gourmet Tapas mmm

EAT: Tapas at the San Miguel Gourmet Tapas Market and a meal at La Finca de Susana

KNOW: Museums have FREE hours and its worth finding them out and waiting on the long line. Go early so to avoid the wait. There are more homeless here than in the previous cities so just be aware. Again take the metro from the airport or a bus.

This blog is dedicated to Ms. Miriam whom helped me get organized and motivated me to be social and meet friends and Ms. Cinnamon who takes hospitality to another level.

Happy Holidays!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb