Obrigada..Portugal!


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Lisboa
December 10th 2013
Published: December 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Portugal is only a one hour trip from Spain so winning already! As soon as I stepped off the plane and saw the modern airport I fell in love. I became absorbed in hearing the older people speak portuguese. I loved that although a different language the train system was really easy.

Do: Sit by the water at Praca de Comercio and check out the 25th of April bridge a look a like of the San Francisco bridge. I really liked the relaxed energy and beautiful views in Lisbon. Do check out the neighborhoods such as Alfama and get lost in the streets. Listen to fado music one night. Go to Belem and see the Jeronimos Monastery. I did not go in but still enjoyed the outside of of it. Do go to the terrace at the National Pantheon of Santa Engracio and take photos of the view. Take a daytrip to real life castles at Sintra and a beach day break from touring at Caiscais. Go to Feira de Ladra two days a week its like a flea market back in the Alladin times.

Eat: Pasteis de Belem, these pastries melt in your mouth. Outside of Belem they are called Nadas. Dink some porto wine and try ginja a cherry liquor often served in a chocolate shell. Also try the cod fish known as Bachalau.

Know: DO NOT be intimidated by the lanaguage barrier most people speak english. Bring comfortable shoes many hills to climb and explore. Do explore the options of Lisbons many tourist discount passes. I didn't get one but it depends on your interests.

I'd recommend 4-6 days for this trip.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



10th December 2013

Nice Experince
Wow it seem you had great fun over there.... me also want to visit the same and planning for it... keep sharing your experience with us....
12th December 2013

good choice
if you need any tips let me know!
11th December 2013

Obrigado Sue! Thank you Sue
Hi Sue, great post about Lisbon :) I wish you can come back someday, it was a pleasure to meet you. I will follow your blog and hope your (Magalhães = Mallegan) journey is always safe and happy. beijinho de Lisboa Marco De Sousa Caneira
12th December 2013

Addition
What really impressed me about portugal was the immense pride of the people. Anyone you asked even the smallest question was more than willing to help

Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0566s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb