Adventures and Misadventures


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
November 17th 2013
Published: November 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Phew what a crazy past 24 hours. I have now been in three countries and four cities in 24 hours! My camera that was supposed to be guarenteed arrival by friday didnt make it so we had to drive to the post office and shake some people down on the way to the airport!

When I got there I was surprised she asked to see my may return ticket. Apparently people are traveling and never leaving the country. Big increase in number of american expats lately.

Then I had to stay awake between the layover before leaving nj and the layover before leaving brussels. That's one of the nice parts about traveling with someone having someone to poke you! My flight to brussels was an indian airline, so here's this american flying to spain with indian movies and music as well as the indian meal and snack. I haven't been on an international flight in about ten years and I was impressed with the place to charge your phone, wide music, tv show, and movie option. They also had a travel magazine aspect. But what made me laugh was the option to message another seat. So you are sitting there and someone sends a message to say hi.

I forgot how I missed the option of free water, soda, or booze so I had to get the glass of wine. It made me realize though how we accept flying now and paying for blankets, headset, pillows, movies, etc. This was all free and while a longer flight than I am used to of 7 hrs there was alot to keep me busy.

So then I arrived and follow the signs that say baggage claim and exit. I somehow managed to exit without my bags!! Luckily I at least knew the word for luggage in spanish from working at the hotel so I managed to find a security person who let me back into the terminal.

Once retrieving my bag i followed my instructions to the metro. I walked in circles found buses cabs no metro. I ask someone follow his advice. No metro! I ask the information booth we only have buses here. I start to think I'm at the wrong airport. I ask another information booth they nicely explain I need only to take a bus to the other terminal and can get the metro there. I take the metro to my stop, get off and its beyond pouring! I can hardly see the street signs and walk in a circle. I see a hotel ask the doorman (who happened to be very cute) he explains to me and after a few more wrong turns and soaked to the bone I finally find the hostel. Luckily he was very nice and not too bad on the eyes..hehe

Anyway I'll hopefully be settled in and adjusted tomorrow and then the tapas, paella sangria and gaudi can begin!

Advertisement



18th November 2013

miss ya already!
Miss ya already Sue, loving the blog, be sure to have a Spanish tortilla!
18th November 2013

thanks
so happy you are following!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0273s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb