Barcelona!!!


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 10th 2013
Published: June 11th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Welcome to Barcelona! Once again I find myself tired, delirious and crampy after a long day of traveling. Especially on planes with crying children....I landed in Barcelona this morning and took the blue Aerobus into the city. for €5 its efficient and easy. I followed the directions I was given, (ok wait, I didn't follow them well, I got lost) to meet up with Matt, the owner of the apartment im renting. Matt is originally from Montreal which is handy as I could communicate with him and felt a bit more at ease. The apartment is small but perfect for one person. The bedroom has these great windows that give you 180 degree views and lets in a lot of light. The kitchen is functional with dishwasher and clothes washer. But the best part of this apartment is the private terrace. You have great views off in the distance of Montjuic, plus the tops of apartment buildings, clothes hanging from each persons balcony, european style. Its has such a relaxing and calming energy. I decide to adapt the spanish way of life and spend a bit more time lazing around my new digs. Plus things are not open here usually from 1-4. So I take a nap before I head out

So I grab a trusty map ( I am being completely ironic) and head out to somehow cross paths at Placa Catalunya. I cross Sant Antoni market, which is an old red brick building that they are restoring for future market use, and continue walking down this one road, in hopes of seeing something familiar. Like most european places the signs are on the side of the building, and not always visable. I criss cross this strret, turn around, take another left, and am utterly lost. I find it amusing and am slightly laughing to myself. The best thing to do is retrace my steps and start all over. This time I see the street I think i was supposed to be on, which was perpendicular to the street I was on, and follow it up. It all starts to make sense now, I see the signs pointing to Placa Catulunya. It takes a bit as I got turned around yet again,but finally find it. Its a very non descript square, a fountain with statues adorning it, a lot of tourists and a lot of pigeons. A bird phobics worst nightmare. People think its great to feed them, while they shit all over the ground. I think theyre dirty, so I continue on to La Ramba. A pedsetrian friendly street with kiosks of flowers and souvenirs. I head over to La Boqueria market. A famous market with a lot of fruit and fruit juice vendors, and ham. A lot of spanish style ham and chorizo and cheese. It smells really good. I pick up some fruit for breakfast tomorrow and call it a day. I need sleep, as I haven't slept in , for sure 24 hours, I know its more but unsure the exact time. Ill get up with fresh eyes tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

TapasTapas
Tapas

Ham croquette and patatas bravas


11th June 2013

Barcelona...Home of seat?? That fruit looks lovely...but I really want that patatas bravas. ;)
12th June 2013

I still dont know what it means

Tot: 0.29s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 61; dbt: 0.071s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb