The red route


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain
June 11th 2013
Published: June 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

So today I decided to take the bus turistic hop on hop off tour. A great idea to get a basic layout of the city. I took the red route which covers the south side of the city. I saw some really cool architecture, that i think ill come back and take better pictures when I do the blue route tomorrow. The highlight would have to be, Placa d'Espanya, which i hope I get better pictures of, and the scenery up by Montjuic., which I will also go back too. Everything else was cool and interesting, I didnt get a ton of pictures as its hard when your on a bus.

I got off at Parc de la Ciutadella,which is also where the zoo is, and roamed around there for a bit. They have an Arc de Triomphe not far from the entrance, and a castle ( three dragons castle) they turned into a museum. The rest of the grounds were very green and well kept, a lake in the middle with row boats, and a grande fountain/waterfall that was co-designed by Gaudi. After the parc I hopped back on the bus and got off at Barri Gothic. This is where the history of Barcelona lies, built on an old roman town. You can see inside the district where old roman pillars and walls stood. They have a gothic style cathedral which is beautifully designed on the outside and the inside was... Oh wait. I didn't get inside, I got rejected at the door for baring my shoulders. I know a lot of churches don't let you in if your not completely covered. So I moved on. Behind the church you started to see the gothic quarter and its character bloom. Narrow quiet streets that intertwine into a maze. Then you would come across an old roman defense wall or old brick structures. Down another alley were coffee shops and retail boutiques, just starting to reopen after siesta. Its a really cool neighborhood, easy to get lost in,both physically and mentally.

I returned home after a grocery pit stop, had a break and went back out that evening to take a walk. (Ok so I actually found a froyo place which was my main reason, and then had to walkit off after) I was on the little rambla street when a man approached me speaking spanish asking for directions. I just said No spanish and all of a sudden he pull out some english accent and says," oh sorry you look like you were going to shit yourself like I was going to rob you. " me: "well you never know"

"Especially around here. Sorry I thought you were local, with your darker coloring"

?Well looks like I got some sun today after all. I guess Im really blending in here. I still checked my purse....


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

A lot of bubble blowers A lot of bubble blowers
A lot of bubble blowers

I feel a scam happening...
The cathedrale,The cathedrale,
The cathedrale,

That I never got inside


Tot: 0.347s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0697s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb