Day 41 - Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
May 28th 2011
Published: June 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

First of all today I went to the second part of Montjuic. I took the funicular railway up the hill and then got a cable car up to montjuic castle (annoyingly the castle was only about 15-20 minutes walk away from the cable car station, so it wasn´t really worth the 10 euros it cost). Oh well. I had a look around the castle and admired the views. I then sat in the sun and read until about 7 o´clock, at which point I left and went down the hill back to La Rambla where I bought a Barcelona FC flag from a tourist shop for an outrageously priced 25 euros.

The reason I bought this was twofold, I wanted to show my support for Barcelona tonight but also I didn´t want to be mistaken as a Manchester United fan if anyone realised I was English. I went back to the house first to drop my bag off etc... before headnig back out to a bar to watch the game. The bar I was in wasn´t brilliant, but oh well. After the game (which Barcelona won) I partied in the streets with thousands of Barcelona supporters. Flares were being released in the middle of the crowd, fireworks were being set off on the outskirts of the crowd. People were climbing statues and lamp posts and were in general partying long into the night. It was such an incredible atmosphere.

Advertisement



7th June 2011

Barcelona
That's something you'll remember for a while! x

Tot: 0.231s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb