"We are Electric Dream Machine" (Day 36)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
June 15th 2010
Published: June 17th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Got a decent night sleep in Kabul despite people coming in and out of my room all night. Oh well. That's what happens here and it's dumb to complain about it since you know what to expect. Went to take my shower before checking out and all 3 sinks in the hostel bathroom had different colors of puke in them haha. Welcome to the Kabul Hostel! I already knew I wanted to move to a different hostel tonight since I have an early train ride tomorrow morning but that pretty much solidified it. I'm heading over to Sun & Moon Hostel which is about a minutes walk which makes it nice and easy. That's all for now. I'll blog it up a little later in the afternoon. Peace for now.

Disclaimer: I am typing this in an internet cafe in Montpellier on a french keyboard so I have to type slow thus a fairly weak blog which will be riddled with spelling errors.

Spent my afternoon checking out some Gaudi work I had not seen yet. Saw the Casa Batillo and another whose name I already forgot. Did not go inside as prices were too much. Spent some time wondering around El Raval which is supposed to be the seedy immigrant part of town, but that is really only at night. It is quite nice during the day and a good place to find some cheap foreign food which is what I did. Ducked into an Irish Pub (these places are literally everywhere) to watch the Portugal-Ivory Coast match. Always, a good way to relax in the afternoon.

Met some people at my new hostel I had met at Kabul and spent the evening with them. Here are the cliff notes since I hate this god damn keyboard:

-gondola ride across the beach up to the castle hill areas with awesome views of the city at sunset
-dinner at a good tapas place in a cute square in el raval
-watched a terrible "experimental" rock band at a nearby bar
-roamed around downtown and hit a few small bars
-tried to get to bed fairly early since I have an early train but that did not happen
-barely slept since the Brazilian guys in my roon snored in ways that were unimaginable, it was like all three of them were belting it out in turns, horrible.
laurynlaurynlauryn

hanging out at the "concert"

Anyways, Barcelona was fantastic and I am looking forward to couch surfing in southern France.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

kabulkabul
kabul

hanging out at kabul


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb