Sunday walks and talks in Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
October 14th 2007
Published: October 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, my time here in Barcelona has almost come to its end, and I have, despite the illness, had a great time. The past two days I feel like I really got out and saw more of Barcelona, and I love it (although Madrid is still my favorite love in the end). Last night I went out with Richard, a guy I had met at my hostel in Madrid, who is now in Barcelona for a few days. We had spent a few great days wandering around Madrid, so I was excited to have someone to hang out with in Barcelona. Also, he had been to Barcelona before several times, and so knew it better than I.

We went out for tapas and drinks and wandered around Barri Gotic looking for the right bar. Richard took me to this place he had been to before, the Barcelona Pipa Club, or something like that. You have to ring the bell and be let up to this place, two stories up, and there is no sign or anything indicating that there is a private bar inside. It was very cool. We had a great time talking all night, but all of the talking made my voice progressively worse and worse. When I got up this morning I pretty much had no voice at all!

Having no voice makes it very hard to communicate, especially when you are travelling. But I am using a lot of hand gestures, and I think it is working ok. Today Richard and I went up to Mt. Tibadabo, the highest hill on the outskirts of Madrid. It has amazing views of the city, although today it was quite hazy, so I´m not sure if my photos will do it justice. We just hung out up there, looking out at the view and engaging in more fun and inane conversation. It is quite ironic that I always seem to meet the most interesting and fun people when I am really far away from home. It makes me wish I could take all my new friends back with me in my suitcase! But, alas, I had to say goodbye. But I am very grateful that I met such great people on this trip, including Richard, who made my last few days in Barcelona much more interesting. So, I am off to find some dinner now, and tomorrow morning I take the bus back to Madrid. Only a few days left... I´m trying to just enjoy them and not think about what happens next...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb