Guadi´s Barcelona


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
October 13th 2007
Published: October 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, I haven´t written in a few days... not because I was busy exploring every corner of Barcelona, but because I have been sick, very sick! I caught a really bad cold and have not been up for much the past few days. I would just wander around the city a bit, go out for meals. I saw a movie, it was in English with spanish subtitles, so that worked out nicely. But unfortunately, this cold really got me down and stole some of my time in Barcelona.

Nonetheless, I have done some stuff. Yesterday I went to the Picasso Museum, which was amazing! I love Picasso and it was great because it really showed the history and progression of his work. They have Picasso´s interpretation of ¨Las Meninas¨, which was originally a painting done by El Greco. That was interesting to see how he copied and changed the painting. I loved it.

Today I was feeling a little better so I spent most of the day out. I first went to see La Sagrada Familia, which is the huge cathedral that was began centuries ago and still not finished! They think it will be finished in 2020. It was very impressive, very interesting. The famous architect Guadi worked on it for 40 years, and you can definitely see his influence, in the interesting shapes and colors of the cathedral. I didn´t want to pay to go inside, so I just saw that outside, but most people say that is the best part anyway.

Then I went to Parc Guell, which was a park that was designed by Guadi. None of the guidebooks mentioned the straight uphill walk for like 20 minutes to get there... it was warm today and I was dying! But the amazing views of the city were worth it in the end. The park was pretty, and there were more buildings designed by Guadi. But there were soo many people there. I was getting frustrated, trying to take photos without having 10 people walk in front of the photo.

There are soo many tourists here it is crazy! Much more than in Madrid. I know usually people say that they loove Barcelona, but really I think Madrid still holds my favorite spot in my heart. It feels more Spanish, and I like that there aren´t hoards of tourists down each and every street. I´m excited that I get to go back to Madrid for a couple more days next week. Anyway, I´m about to go meet a friend for tapas and drinks. He´s one of the guys I met at the hostel in Madrid, and he is in Barcelona for a few days now, so we are going to go out and drink up Barcelona. Hasta luego.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0589s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb