The last day


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » District of Madrid » Madrid
October 16th 2007
Published: October 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, here I am, my last day in Spain. Yesterday I took the bus from Barcelona to Madrid and arrived here early evening. I went to the supermarket and picked up a few things to make pasta with, and came back and cooked at the hostel. While I was sitting eating dinner I met a lot of people who are staying at the hostel, and talked with them until lights out at 11pm. I have met so many interesting people here, last night I met a funeral director from New Zealand!

So today I went to two museums, which was a lot, but I had the tickets already so... First I went to the Museo Thyssen... something, it´s a long name. I really like it, had a great variety of art from the middle ages to the present. It was very fun to wander along and discover some really great pieces by Monet, Picasso, Dali, Degas.... I ended up buying some stuff in the gift shop, and poster of a painting ¨Metropolis¨that I think would look good in a kitchen or something.

Then I had lunch at a really good Cuban restaurant near the museum. The food was delicious, I had arroz a la cubana and some chicken dish. I was so full when I finished I could barely move. But, I still had one more museum to go to, so I headed off to the Museo del Prado.

The Prado is THE big famous museum in Madrid and many people visit the city because of the Museum. I had been once before and don´t remember being that impressed, but thought I would give it another chance. Again, it was alright. It has a huge collection and some really famous pieces by El Greco, Velasquez, Murillo, Goya.... and some of them are very impressive. But, I just guess that modern art is more my thing. I prefer to look at art that makes me think about things and feel certain things, versus just portraits of famous people. Well, there is much more than just portraits, but. I think it is just a personal preference thing, some people hate modern art! I´m glad I went though, some of the pieces are very interesting, like Velasquez´s Las Meninas, depicting a royal family, and I particularly liked a Goya painting ¨La Boda¨depicting a beautiful young bride in an arranged marriage with her ulgly old husband, it made me laugh.

So, tonight I am going to the ballet, to see Moscow Ballet perform ¨La Travieta¨. I´m very excited about it. I just hope that my jeans are going to be ok attire, it´s all I have! I am wearing a nice shirt at least so, I think I´ll be ok. I´m sad about having to leave tomorrow and go home. But I miss everyone and also am looking forward to my own room, big bed, and my own bathroom. It will feel very luxurious. Anyway, next time I write I will be back on U.S. soil.... reflecting back on my amazing trip to Spain.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb