Hola!- Buenas Tardes


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
August 18th 2007
Published: August 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello, Good Afternoon

Actually it´s night but I dont know how to say that!

So I am in Barcelona, been here a few days. The USB port on this computer isnt working so I cant upload any photos but let me tell you, it looks just like any other city over here really! Nothing except for Gaudi´s place that is exciting to look at. Oh but I did take a picture of a Bovis Lend Lease sign on a construction site at a bank in the main square! Highlight of my day I tell you!

So let me list what I have learnt about the Spanish, well I havent been outside of Barcelona so I cant generalise but my hotel is a 30min train ride into the city so I´ve seen a bit of country side too!

1. There are alot of good looking young men here!
2. There are alot of scary looking women here in hooker clothing for day wear
3. Mullets are back in Spain with a vengence! My god, platted, braided, dreadlocked, coloured, you name it I´ve seen it. VERY tragic. And no they were never in!
4. People are lovely. Willing to try and help you even if they cant speak a word of english! Infact everytime you ask a shop keeper for directions, they more often than not will come out onto the street with you to show you where to go! Just leave the shop unattended! I went to a beauticians here, that was an experience in itself! We had to use hand gestures instead of words!
5. Grafitti is EVERYWHERE its really bad
6. They dont clean, refurb or paint anything and I mean anything. Everything looks like its so old and thats pretty revolting to look at!
7. The dody bag sellers here have it all over the ones in Rome. They have them all attached to a rope so when the police come along they just pull the string and up they all come into their sack and they can run off! I got 2 this time after our disaster in Rome trying to buy them!
8. Trains in Spain NEVER run on time. You just wait till one eventually shows up!
9. Men are not affraid to whiste or call out to you in the street. But it seems ok here, if we were back home, theyd get a smack in the head!
10. Shopping is great. If I were rich I´d buy shitloads and ship it back!
11. Little kids speaking Spanish is a classic. Makes me laugh every time!
12. Everything is under construction or half finished or dirty
13. There is no button to press on the pedestrian lights at traffic lights. They just change when they want and you cross when it says!
14. Weather is humid but unpredictable. Yesterday boiling, today rainy and overcast
15. Lots of little shanty towns, places stacked on top of each other for miles

So I went on a 4 hour bike ride today with the same company that we went with in Paris. Had a funny guy from Perth take us. We saw the soccer ground from the Nike ad, remember when the kids are playing on teh sand pitch and a mum yells out from a window in the apartments above at one of the kids? Yeah well anyway, saw that! And also where the movie Purfume was filmed. The fountain and window where he kills his first girl.

I tell you, I´m getting fitter by the day. If I dont have the best ass by the time I get back from all the walking, stair climbing & riding I´ve been doing...!

Today is my last day as I head for San Sebastian tomorrow. Thats on the north coast. I´m there till Tuesday and am then being picked up to go to Biaritz in France where I´m going on a surfing holiday!

Yes you heard right. Greece was cancelled, the bastards so instead I am meeting up with 2 of the girls from my tour and we are going on a weeks learn to surf holiday. It´s run by a bunch of aussies and we camp at Biaritz and then travel every day to a different beacj up and down the spanish/french coastline. Pretty cool huh!

So it´s a surfing lesson every day then you do what you like. Night time is of course party time!

So after that I´ll be heading home to reality!

Plans have completely changed from original but thats ok, I´m really looking forward to this and that´s why I didnt make definate plans in the first place!

Well, best I be getting to bed now, got a long day tomorrow...travelling again!

I highly doubt there will be internet access where we are going but if there is I´ll write again. If not, then I´ll write when I get home just to finish off.

Adios!! xxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb