Hasta Luego My Dutchesses


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
July 26th 2007
Published: September 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The DutchessesThe DutchessesThe Dutchesses

Otto Zutz Barcelona, Spain
Sad. My time in Barcelona is coming to an end and I have to say goodby for now to my new friends. For the last week I have been a solo tourist. No class- just me and the city. It has been great to be in one place for such a long time, especially after speeding through Holland, France and Germany so quickly. I sort of feel like I live here now or at least that I could live here. I have my coffee place that I go to every morning, people in the neighborhood know me, I share nods daily with real live Barcelonans, and I have mastered the public transportation system.

The one thing I haven’t been able to do is get to Montjuic Cemetary. Its featured in several Almodovar films, most recently “Volver”. We drove by it the other day on the way to Montserrat and it looked beautiful, all white and luminescent in the distance; very similar to the cemeteries in New Orleans, but wedged into the side of a hill and looking over the city. On Tuesday I tried to go with Aaron (I wore my best black Penelope Cruz dress and my best lisp),
My RideMy RideMy Ride

Ummm. I really wanted a Vespa.
but we found out it was on the opposite side of the hill and that you had to take a bus to get there. I’ve also heard since then that its especially dangerous and that you aren’t allowed to take pictures. Anyway, I may take a taxi at the last minute or I may not go at all, but its the last thing on my checklist. After being here for two weeks I’ve been able to see most of the sights several times. I see Casa Batllo almost every day (my favorite) and have been living at the beach for the last five days. I am a lucky lady, I know.

Tonight is my last night here. I have plans to return to Otto Zutz with Vanni and her best friend Brenda, who is visiting from Holland. Tomorrow I’m off to Toledo for a few days before I head on to Valencia. Not sure what to expect there, but looking forward to a new experience. So, hasta luego my dutchesses and come to California soon!



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

I came all the way to Spain........I came all the way to Spain........
I came all the way to Spain........

to discover I love the Dutch. Vale.
More good timesMore good times
More good times

Vanni, Joy, & Brenda
Same white dress. Same good times.Same white dress. Same good times.
Same white dress. Same good times.

I only had this one dress to go out in. All in all I only had about 6 different outfits to choose from*- so I did a lot of laundry and got used to it after awhile. Vannie saw my white dress a few times, but was nice enough not to make me feel bad about it. *Since coming home, I find that I am drawn to these same 6 outfits and have kept wearing them. Not sure if I just don't know how to wear other clothes or am trying to prolong my vacation. Probably the latter.
Sleeping InSleeping In
Sleeping In

Such a thing as too much fun?
Last Tango in BarcelonaLast Tango in Barcelona
Last Tango in Barcelona

For now.................


9th September 2007

Your friends are so cute!

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb