Vale (Bally)


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Catalonia » Barcelona
July 24th 2007
Published: September 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Vale. Vale is my favorite word here in Spain. It makes me feel more fluent so I use it a lot. They use it a lot too. Vale is the equivalent of okay or really; a filler word basically, but a little bit more than that. Vale, pronounced “bally” for those of you who want to incorporate it into your personal lexicon. Vale.

As for me and Barcelona, we are in love. Vale. It happened sometime between Park Guell (the best views of Barcelona) and my first week of classes here at Enforex (www.enforex.com).

Going to school here has been great, although I was a bit worried the first day. Most everyone is younger than I am. I actually had one girl from Italy say, “Wow! You’re like ten years older than me!” Vale. Thanks Italian girl! If I had forgotten my ten year high school reunion was next week, she certainly reminded me. In fact, most everyone here is 10-12 years younger than me. And French. Vale. I don’t know what I was expecting, but I think I had kind of envisioned couples and thirty-something travelers. Yeah. Not so much. Vale. I was beginning to get really worried
ModernismoModernismoModernismo

View of La Sagrada Familia from the interior of the Hospital de Sant Pau. Modernismo at its finest.
when I met (gasp) a thirty-year old who introduced me to a 27 year old who introduced me to an awesome group of “girls” from Denmark, Germany, Russia, and Holland. Vale. Vanni, from Holland, has been especially great. She has the best smile and is up for whatever; my favorite kind of person. Vale. She’s here for five weeks so I know by the time she leaves she will be the Queen of Barcelona.


Just a few days left- I had to say goodbye to my apartment near La Sagrada and am now set up at the beach. Vale. Staying at Sea Point Hostel which is cheap and clean. I open the front door and am literally on the beach. The Mediterranean is my favorite and I don't even think I've seen the best of it yet. Vale.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Sunday in Clot ParkSunday in Clot Park
Sunday in Clot Park

This area reminded me of Venice Beach without the ocean or dirty diapers (Gina). Note the cucumber building in the background. I don't remember the architect, but it certainly stands out.
La Sagrada FamiliaLa Sagrada Familia
La Sagrada Familia

Trying to fit it all in one shot.
Why didn't you call?Why didn't you call?
Why didn't you call?

The time difference made it hard to call, but I did send postcards.
Man Feeds StraysMan Feeds Strays
Man Feeds Strays

Near the Olympic Park. So sweet.
Long LinesLong Lines
Long Lines

I think its amazing that these kids are growing up in this amazing, imaginative city surrounded by so much beauty. Their minds are being filled with beautiful images each day just walking down the street. They also have to put up with a lot of tourists though, but no city is perfect.
4 Gats4 Gats
4 Gats

Best restaraunt in Barcelona. Best food. Best atmosphere. Best history. Picasso had his first show here. Vale.
Gorgeous SitgesGorgeous Sitges
Gorgeous Sitges

Just a thirty minute train ride from Barcelona is Sitges. White houses, winding streets, and tons of gay guys perfecting their tans and checking each other out.
Guacamole At Last!Guacamole At Last!
Guacamole At Last!

It wasn't the most amazing guacamole, but I was so happy to find a Mexican restaurant it didn't matter.


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb