Kings (and Queens) of Leon


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I like Leon. I have to say, it´s got a great feel to it - a combination of the medieval and the Belle Epoque and lots of places to sit and watch people and drift around. Yeah, a good spot.

But what I want to write today is not so much about place as it is about a line of thought sparked by a snippet of conversation I had at dinner last night. I´m somewhat loath to go into details as the person with whom I was talking to may read the blog and I don´t wish to embarrass them - either by misquoting them or by imposing my interpretation of the conversation upon them... So with that caveat...

To summarise what I think was the crux of the conversation: the person who I was talking to said that I created a lot of positive energy and had demonstrated sensitivity to others. Oooh, I hear you say - that´s an ego boost. And yes it was very nice. And it got me thinking...

A few months ago, anyone could have said the same things to me (although given how I was at the time, someone saying that would
Plasa MayorPlasa MayorPlasa Mayor

I love an early morning market
have been very unlikely), and I wouldn´t have really believed them. Or would have found and ulterior motive for them to say such a thing - some hidden agenda. Or I would have found some kind of negative spin to obsess over about. Clearly the camino has provided me with the opportunity to dispense with that sort of thinking, or to meet people without any agenda, or to reconnect with bits of myself that had been eroded, or a combination of all these.

There´s a lot more I would or could say about this moment, and the implications that are rippling outwards from it at the moment, but I´ve found this a very difficult writing activity today, so rather than miscommunicating (more than I may have already done) I´ll leave it at that and perhaps return to this line of thought in the days to come.

And Leon really is a great town!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Detail of Casa BotinesDetail of Casa Botines
Detail of Casa Botines

Gaudi as a Neo-Goth


5th July 2012

ahhh, found you at last!
Ahhh, David, I have been checking your blog and thought you hadn't posted anything - until today and I realised I was stuck on the first page! (because of course that's what I set the link to) So, I have just caught up a bit and I do like this last post, it's nice to hear you revealing a bit more of what you are going through internally and to hear that the internal negative spin doctors are getting out of the way and letting some genuine praises through... :) Hope you're feeling well, and the sun is shinning just enough to keep you smiling but not too much to make you stew. Kd x

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb