Lies, Damned Lies and Food


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Castile & León » Astorga
July 5th 2012
Published: July 5th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Errr, YUMErrr, YUMErrr, YUM

This plate of tostas cost the equivalent of two takeaway pizzas...
Actually I´m in Hospital de Orbigo (about 15 Kms from Astorga) but it´s not on the list so that will do...

Ok, so today I´m going to break another oath I made to you. I promised not to write rhapsodical praise of aspects of the trip, and that´s just what I´m going to do. I´m so bad.

Last night in Leon, I had the privilege of eating some of the best food I´ve ever had the fortune to encounter. A few pilgrims had arranged to meet outside the cathedral in Leon to go to dinner. We had a couple of glasses of wine (welcome back old friend), and some people weren´t keen on eating, some wandered off to grab a quick sandwich and the usual ´I don´t know what I feel like´issues arose. In the end we were whittled to three and decided to stay at the bar and sample the raciones. Best decision EVER!

The list was extensive and ranged from the traditional spanish stuff to sushi and the like. We decided on a sample plate of tostas (stuff on bread) and some jamon. The jamon was buttery and melted on your tongue. It was great -
Which is prettier?Which is prettier?Which is prettier?

I say the plate of food but...
BUT THE TOSTAS!

There was a pulpo (octopus) with some paprika (second from the top in the photo)- we had to have a second order of it so that the three of us could each have a piece. I had had some issues with seafood on this trip - I have now forgiven the ocean!

The middle tosta was ground morcilla (blood sausage) and apple. It almost brought me to tears it was so good - it was rich and acidic and just fantastic.

The second from the bottom was a pepper and eggplant concoction which was fantastic and I didn´t get to try the bottom tosta which was cheese with a balsamic reduction across the top - but if the balsamic stuff was representative, it must have been great because I dipped my finger into a puddle of it on the plate and turned into a puddle myself.

But the best was the cured beef (name of which has slipped my mind - starts with a ´c´), with mustard and a dressing that made me LOSE MY MIND it was so good.

Remember this is just some bar need the cathedral - it was a bit nice but I don´t think that it was top of the range or anything. How do I know. Well the total bill for it all, INCLUDING THE WINE and beers, was 48 euro - about $65.00. You pay that much for suburban takeaway chinese food.

The Spanish have got one thing worked right out...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb