Never Get Smug


Advertisement
Published: July 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Actually I´m 18 odd Kms short of Leon in a town called Mansilla de las Mulas...

So, there I was, halfway through, feeling strong, thinking I would be picking up some time on some short stages, when...

It looked like such an innocent thing. A little bocadillo, with an omlette filling. It was a couple of hours to dinner and I´d walked about 40 Kms that day, so I thought, why not? The guy suggested he warm it up for me - I was amenable. I was actually pleasantly surprised when I bit into it and discovered that it was packed with seafood. That and a Cerveza con Limon cost me $3.50 - bargain!

It was at dinner that I first noticed. I suddenly felt very tired. Well I thought it had been a long day. Then as I was walking back to my bunk, a horrible realisation about what was about to happen dawned in my conciousness - actually it dawned more in my intestinal tract, but you get the idea. I won´t go any further into the events of the evening two days ago, suffice to say - food poisoning in a dormitory is NOT something you should live through. At one point during the sleepless night, I thought I might not live through it either.

Adding to the pain, I had had my laundry done by the hospitaleros at the albergue, which I had dutifully hung out (pre Tapas from Hell) and a sudden thunderstorm woke me from a fitful slumber (post TFH). I raced out to rescue my now sodden clothes (in a partially clothed and not very aware state) to discover that it was about 9.00 pm and everyone was standing around watching the thunderstorm - and now the half-dressed wet guy trying to get his washing off the line.

Oh the laughs we had...

The next morning I dragged myself out of bed, checked myself into a hotel 100 metres up the road, and slept for the day - everytime I woke up the televison was blaring about Euro 2012 and Spain´s imminent triumph. I managed to see the first two of Spain´s four GOOOOOOOOAAAAAAALLLLLLLSSSSSSSSSSSSSS! before succumbing to further unconciousness... At least I woke to a happy country this morning.

So remember my children - it doesn´t matter how well things may be going for you - disaster is only a dodgy sandwich away

Advertisement



3rd July 2012

Dodgy sandwich
Added value of a total body cleanse on the trip!

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0553s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb