Picos de Europa: Finding My Way Through Mountains and Villages


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Cantabria
February 20th 2008
Published: April 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is an owesome destination which surely deserved more than just two days!

Unfortunately this trip is coming to an end soon... There's no much time left before I take a ferry back to Dover. However, I still want to see quite a few places as I rush back to Calais!

Picos is absolutely gorgeous, with narrow winding roads through snow capped mountains, thousands of trekking routes and lots of cool accommodation facing breathtaking scenery.

I stayed at Casa Gustavo, a beautiful well-maitained timber house near Potes, owned by a friendly British couple. I ate delicious food at local eateries and made the best use of my little time trekking through mountains and old little villages. I startet at Cobena and followed a faint path to the back of a farm and through woods. I did get quite worried when the track vanished at the bottom of this sierra and the photo clues I was kindly given were of little use! I scrambled up about 350m, got to the misty top gulping for air but was really happy to be able to walk on the crest of this beautil crag. I found the mountain pass with areas covered in snow, then came the ghostly trees and the long descent through woods and green pastures until I got to Salarzon.

The houses and narrow streets in this old village were so atmospheric! Friendly people chatting on doorways, animals on back yards, logs pilled up, old sheep wagons rusting in the sun, the local church trying to reach the sky backed by moutain views...

I savoured every view, smell and sound of my little time in the Picos. I love to look at these photos and let those sweet memories come back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 29, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Spooky WoodsSpooky Woods
Spooky Woods

Little Red Riding Hood would be in real danger here! Glad I got my blue hood instead!


26th May 2008

Middle of nowhere!
What a cute little village, although seriously, are there still any people there!

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb