Delightful Proenca-a-Nova


Advertisement
Portugal's flag
Europe » Portugal » Central
February 18th 2008
Published: April 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I had so much fun in Proenca-a Nova!

Jose Santos (Ze) was the perfect host every traveller dreams of coming across. He and Catarina were fantastic finding me free accommodation, taking me to places and dinner parties, giving me tips on what to do in the area, etc. They were just great company. Even Miguel, the prodigy boy was very good (most of the time, hehe!) I would never imagine all that when I first said hello to a guy speaking Portuguese at El Chorro campsite!

Proenca-a-Nova is a delightful town near Braganca. It is the centre of a county that has a lot to offer in terms of sunny warm wheather, beautiful scenery and a group of young talented guys like Ze, Catarina, Paulo, Yola, Pedro, Susana and others who have been working to explore the grat potential of this place.

Climbing with Ze was a great pleasure, as well as exploring the beautiful crag in Figueira dos Vinhos on my own. I definitely need to come back to try and climb Portas do Almorao, the new crag Ze is developing in the area. Ze and I spent his lunchtime break doing a bit of trad climbing there, on this virgin rock. It was very pleasant, however only Ze had time to open a route. My name should be remembered at least for being the first ever belayer there! hehe. Here's Ze's blog: Http://zepataleno.blogspot.com

It was also great to meet Yola Vale & Paulo Alves, two fantastic Portuguese Ceramic Artists and get to know their awesome ceramic work. Check their inspiring website at http://www.autoresdeceramica.com/

This was my last Portuguese destination on this trip, and of course I was sad to go. When in Proenca-a-Nova I received a touching message from my friend Christina saying that my passing through this country reminded her of her dear Portuguese grandfather who crossed the Atlantic to start a family in Brazil and how he also traveled this land on a motorbike. In his memory I laid a yellow flower rigth up on top of the route I most enjoyed climbing here, overlooking the pine trees, the hills and the deep blue sky.


Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

It's My Turn...It's My Turn...
It's My Turn...

...but Ze can't resist being framed as well! So typical! Hehe
Ze's FamilyZe's Family
Ze's Family

Have you heard of the Addams? No, these are really nice guys!
Jose SantosJose Santos
Jose Santos

Portas do Almorao is conquered!
My trustworthy boots! My trustworthy boots!
My trustworthy boots!

Getting on top of beautiful Portuguese cliffs
A snail? a desguised insect?A snail? a desguised insect?
A snail? a desguised insect?

Not really! It's a seed inside its strong case.
My dear VFRMy dear VFR
My dear VFR

About 6,000 to get here, through highways, curvy hilly roads, snowy mountain passes, dirt tracks, sandy paths in the desert, green farm roads... this bike has seen the lot!


2nd May 2008

Abração
Olá Amigo , obrigado pelos teu post esta espectacular, o pessoal de Proença manda um grande abraço e deseja-te uma boa viagem. Aguardamos-te , para fazeres a via A Viagem de Zé Magalhães que ja equipei na Escola de Escalada das Portas do Almourão e ficou um IV. Abraço Grande .

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb