The Highest Sand Dune in Europe!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
February 22nd 2008
Published: April 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Delighted to be riding through France once again, I carefully chose a route that would allow me great views and a few unique destinations.

Dune du Pyla, on the Southwest coast of France, is a very special place.

It was a bit like being back to the desert in Merzouga. The sand! How I would love a sand dune in my backyard! But this amazing sand dune seems to come from nowhere. It sits there, magestic; its sand touching the blue sea on one side while the other side is combed by a green sea of pine trees spreading everywhere your eyes can reach. I sit there on the sand, make my ham sandwich with the squashed bagette from my backpack and watch the sun go down; the orange hue intensify on the horizon then surrender to the falling night...

It was dark and late when I got to the Youth Hostel in La-Teste-de-Buch. I chatted with a young couple for a little while, ate the last biscuits I found in my luggage and went to bed.

The morning light came with a surprise: elegant, tall pine trees framing the skies for the wooden cabins, another precious view found by chance.

What a gift it is to be alive!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



26th May 2008

Sand dunes
Wow, I'm not sure I can believe that the first few photos are France! I didn't realise about the sand dunes.

Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb