Photos from Dry Dock


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Canary Islands
July 6th 2014
Published: July 6th 2014
Edit Blog Post

We should be back in the water about July 14th. At that time the families with children who are in hotels will be returning.

The dock crew are a great bunch of guys. Some of them have been doing some repairs in the Café area along with a projects team. The men from here are very talkative. They talk too fast for me to make out much of what they are saying. But I know that soccer is often part of the conversation. They never let me take the garbage done the scaffolding gangway. I never argue about that. They try out the few English words they know like, "Good Morning".

I had off today. After doing laundry, I walk to the port exit and took bus #1 to Triana, the oldest part of the city of Las Palmas. It is a 15 minute bus ride going past the center of the newer part of the city, Sta Catalina. I got off at San Torno where the major pedestrian walk begins. I sat on a bench near my three favorite street musicians who play violins and cello. They are three young guys. The kids are funny to watch when their parents give them coins to drop in the violin case. They walk up slowly, look at the musicians, drop their coins, and them run back to their parents laughing. Usually Sunday is fairly quiet and most of the shops are closed, but today there was a big 50% sale going on in most of the shops. In addition there was a couple who did a puppet show with strings puppets, a clown, venders selling cotton candy, balloons, and popcorn. The place was mobbed until about two-thirty. I walk about for a little while and them made my way to the bus stop. I will open the shop tonight for a little while and then hopefully go to bed early. I have had a cubical to my self for a couple of week. So nice!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

DRYDOCK WORK SHOTSDRYDOCK WORK SHOTS
DRYDOCK WORK SHOTS

Getting a paint job
WORK SHOTSWORK SHOTS
WORK SHOTS

Photos by Ryan Cordosa
White BoardWhite Board
White Board

Latest messages on the board: Deck 5 near garbage shoot


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb